Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-28-2012, 12:37 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2
Share |
Question

New register openings?


Hi, I'm new to the forum, hopefully my question has not been asked before, my apologies in advance if it has.

I am renovating my first house (an 1150 sq. ft. ranch built in 1971) on a budget. One of the goals is to update the look of the interior (obviously) while I renovate, so I really wanted to get rid of the hideous old baseboard registers and convert them into floor registers.

I know there are a lot of technical things involved in hvac, so I want to make sure it's okay to change a 2 1/2"x12" vent opening to a 4"x10" one.

You should know that the hvac system is completely shot and will need a complete replacement, so I am not really worried about current system or lines, etc. I just basically need to know if it is okay to go ahead with this so that I can cut the holes and start putting the flooring down.
Emcee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 06:31 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,001
Default

New register openings?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Emcee View Post
Hi, I'm new to the forum, hopefully my question has not been asked before, my apologies in advance if it has. I am renovating my first house (an 1150 sq. ft. ranch built in 1971) on a budget. One of the goals is to update the look of the interior (obviously) while I renovate, so I really wanted to get rid of the hideous old baseboard registers and convert them into floor registers.
I know there are a lot of technical things involved in hvac, so I want to make sure it's okay to change a 2 1/2"x12" vent opening to a 4"x10" one. You should know that the hvac system is completely shot and will need a complete replacement, so I am not really worried about current system or lines, etc. I just basically need to know if it is okay to go ahead with this so that I can cut the holes and start putting the flooring down.
yep you can install 4x10 ...ben sr
ben's plumbing is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 07:02 AM   #3
REP
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 615
Default

New register openings?


They are almost the same size cfm wise,no need to change them.It is really more importyant to have as many cold air returns as possible.Returns make the house more comfortrable and lets the furnace breath better if sized right.
REP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 10:10 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2
Default

New register openings?


Thanks guys. I know I don't have to replace them, just personal preference.
I just wanted to make sure I wasn't messing with capability of the unit by doing so.
Emcee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 12:47 PM   #5
HVAC Tech/Owner
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: VA
Posts: 403
Default

New register openings?


If it was my house.....

Would do a load calculation...would determine how much air needed to be delivered to the room...would determine how many and what size vents needed to be supplied to the room and then start hacking away at the hardwood floor.
Technow is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 08:11 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: winnipeg manitoba canada
Posts: 779
Default

New register openings?


[quote=Technow;1081278]If it was my house.....

Would do a load calculation...would determine how much air needed to be delivered to the room...would determine how many and what size vents needed to be supplied to the room and then start hacking away at the hardwood floor.[/quote

oh my......
carmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 08:23 AM   #7
HVAC Tech/Owner
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: VA
Posts: 403
Default

New register openings?


[quote=carmon;1081547]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Technow View Post
If it was my house.....

Would do a load calculation...would determine how much air needed to be delivered to the room...would determine how many and what size vents needed to be supplied to the room and then start hacking away at the hardwood floor.[/quote

oh my......
??

How much cfm needs to be delivered to the room?

2x12 is 70cfm

4x 10 is 120 cfm at same face velocity and proper spread and throw. I can cut in any size...but what is actually needed for the room? 1- 4x12? 2-4x10's ? 3-2x12's??
Technow is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding new register via tee off existing register tpanc13 HVAC 12 06-30-2010 12:04 PM
How to attach ceiling register to duct? adrianm HVAC 6 03-25-2010 07:29 AM
Large metal "tabs" in openings cut in bi-level rim joist... What are they? Insulate? nutlog Building & Construction 9 11-09-2009 03:19 PM
Filling in large openings in concrete foundation shtoink Building & Construction 10 12-04-2008 04:03 PM
Install Register Boot in finished ceiling? rockyfan206 HVAC 1 03-06-2008 05:26 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.