New R 410A System Replaced - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-24-2011, 06:18 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

New R 410A system replaced


Hi everyone
Last month; I just had an a/c service man replaced my 20 years old R22 / 2 tons system with new R 410A system. He only replaced outside condenser unit and a coil but the line set. I was told that the line set is OK. Yesterday; friend of me said that I should have him replace the line set too because the oil from the old system will damage the new system So far the new system is working great. Should I worry about this ?
Thanks

Advertisement

Dognuv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2011, 06:23 PM   #2
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Rewards Points: 500
Default

New R 410A system replaced


The old line sets can be used when it does the properly line set flushing

Advertisement

__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to JJboy For This Useful Post:
Dognuv (07-24-2011)
Old 07-24-2011, 11:15 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

New R 410A system replaced


Thanks JJboy for your reply I assume the servive person did properly line sets flushing. So the system is working so far so good
Dognuv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2011, 11:28 PM   #4
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,220
Default

New R 410A system replaced


mineral oil in 22, poe in 410-A. They do not mix. One is much more hygroscopic (ability to attract moisture) then the other.

as JJboy has said, if it was nitrogen flushed then you're good. we do it all the time to save the home owner money.

The one thing I'd check though is the line set size. A lot of 410-A system require bigger lines than the older 22. Your suction line coming from the condenser might be 1 and 1/8" and the installer just stuck the old 7/8" into it. Not a very, very big deal as that as well happens a lot but for optimal system performance it should be what is designed as.

410-A operates at twice the pressures of 22.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Doc Holliday For This Useful Post:
Dognuv (07-24-2011)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Heating & AC system takes long time to warm up home poston8 HVAC 10 11-10-2010 04:26 PM
New House, new system, poor cooling Faulknertw HVAC 15 07-08-2008 11:06 PM
Size A/C system properly 70stang HVAC 1 03-26-2006 08:22 PM
Replace furnace, coil and duct system sps123 HVAC 2 01-07-2006 11:56 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts