Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-17-2008, 09:58 AM   #1
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

New message to our hvac pros


How many guys carry a clip cord (test cord) to test components with?

Let's take it one step deeper. Do any of you use a hermetic analyzer to isolate a resi comp start prob or do you use a three alligator clip with a run cap attached a push button cord?

__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 10:51 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: palm coast fl
Posts: 588
Rewards Points: 0
Default

New message to our hvac pros


howdy lover:
yea i used to carry multable jumper wires if thats what were speaking of
the second thing no just an amprobe and a super boost if the superboost didnt start it and if it was trying(customer didnt leave it running with no freon so compressor wasnt an egg fryer and off internally) than id condem it



i just realized the way i addressed you might indicate we were something more than just a couple of guys in the hvac industry to those wondering we are not lol


Last edited by kennzz05; 11-17-2008 at 10:54 AM.
kennzz05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 11:59 AM   #3
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 0
Default

New message to our hvac pros


Quote:
Originally Posted by kennzz05 View Post
howdy lover:
yea i used to carry multable jumper wires if thats what were speaking of
the second thing no just an amprobe and a super boost if the superboost didnt start it and if it was trying(customer didnt leave it running with no freon so compressor wasnt an egg fryer and off internally) than id condem it



i just realized the way i addressed you might indicate we were something more than just a couple of guys in the hvac industry to those wondering we are not lol
Clover for short.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 02:31 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: palm coast fl
Posts: 588
Rewards Points: 0
Default

New message to our hvac pros


10-4 GOOD buddy
kennzz05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 05:00 PM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,079
Rewards Points: 50
Default

New message to our hvac pros


Haven't used an Annie for a lot of years now.
I just use a hard start to check stuck compressors.
Some times I'll reverse(yep, you can do that without an Annie) them, to see if I can free them.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 11:02 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: palm coast fl
Posts: 588
Rewards Points: 0
Default

New message to our hvac pros


ah remember the good old days with the big ass start cap and holding it on the run cap terminals to see if you could start it and the pain if you didnt discharge it b4 you touched it
kennzz05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 11:23 PM   #7
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 0
Default

New message to our hvac pros


Quote:
Originally Posted by kennzz05 View Post
ah remember the good old days with the big ass start cap and holding it on the run cap terminals to see if you could start it and the pain if you didnt discharge it b4 you touched it

cant say as i ever tried that. Always had an Annie or a start cord i could attach to the run cap.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 11:33 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: palm coast fl
Posts: 588
Rewards Points: 0
Default

New message to our hvac pros


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
cant say as i ever tried that. Always had an Annie or a start cord i could attach to the run cap.


oh well la de da dont we got da best tools i dunno thats what some "old" guy taught me (probably younger than i am now) (guessing a start cord is basicly what i just described but perhaps with a potential relay) do you remember that thick ass book that had like every compressor in it and what type of pot. relay to use? thank god for hardstarts thats all i can say
kennzz05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 11:48 PM   #9
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 0
Default

New message to our hvac pros


Quote:
Originally Posted by kennzz05 View Post
oh well la de da dont we got da best tools i dunno thats what some "old" guy taught me (probably younger than i am now) (guessing a start cord is basicly what i just described but perhaps with a potential relay) do you remember that thick ass book that had like every compressor in it and what type of pot. relay to use? thank god for hardstarts thats all i can say

that was Doolin's and I still have my copy from thirty years ago.

The pot was an old Frigidaire rotary compressor by General Motors.

Those made great vacuum pumps. The piston comps sucked sewer water as a pump.

I fixed an old Frigidaire pump back in the day. I put a new hot wire relay on it, soldered 1/4 schrader on it. The access valve let you change the oil when it got dirty.

Even made that stupid voltate tested out of a 220v light and pig tail.
First time i used it I got shocked and bought an analog Amprobe. Tested volts and ohms.

Still got it in my memorabilia too box along with my GE access tool.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 11:57 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: palm coast fl
Posts: 588
Rewards Points: 0
Default

New message to our hvac pros


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
that was Doolin's and I still have my copy from thirty years ago.

The pot was an old Frigidaire rotary compressor by General Motors.

Those made great vacuum pumps. The piston comps sucked sewer water as a pump.

I fixed an old Frigidaire pump back in the day. I put a new hot wire relay on it, soldered 1/4 schrader on it. The access valve let you change the oil when it got dirty.

Even made that stupid voltate tested out of a 220v light and pig tail.
First time i used it I got shocked and bought an analog Amprobe. Tested volts and ohms.

Still got it in my memorabilia too box along with my GE access tool.


dude you just made me laugh i remember a teacher in tech school saying the fridgidaires were the **** for vac pumps so i was driving behind the local goodwill and lo and behold what do you kno a fridgidaire refridgerator
i had that puppy face down and cuttin the compressor out with limited tools and someone came out of goodwill and said i hope your gonna take that whole thing i was like um ok yea sure thre it in the back of my dodge dart(74) parents car. i say threw more like leaned it in the trunk drove a couple hundred feet and tossed it out got the compressor and never used it. the teacher neglected to mention most companys supply vac pumps....ah good stuff

kennzz05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do I need a HVAC return vent in basement? westing HVAC 13 04-03-2014 01:43 AM
History of HVAC Industry Brands winkydink HVAC 8 03-25-2011 07:28 AM
HVAC plans for remodel wease HVAC 3 03-23-2011 10:47 AM
Message to all the heplfull pros of HVAC hvaclover HVAC 23 11-14-2008 09:44 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.