Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-06-2008, 07:37 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5
Share |
Default

new Infinity system shows static pressure at 0.09


From what I have been reading this seems too low, correct? It is an Infinity 80 Gas Furnace model 58cva. I also have a humidifier and ERV Ventilator (both Aprilaire) attached. I closed these unit off and ESP jumped to ~ .12.
My ductwork was never changed. Only hardware. I also have a ERV Ventilator and a Humidifier mounted directly off the duct from furnace. Closing their feeds raises pressure to ~.12.
Reason I am searching is that some rooms get little air flow and, hence, not much heat.
Despite the installers having made improvements I remain concerned. Any thoughts?

peterv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2008, 07:55 PM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,256
Default

new Infinity system shows static pressure at 0.09


That unit has a variable speed ECM motor from what I saw on the Carrier website. I would imagine the static pressure to be at least .3-.4 "WC. Either the motor is not getting up to speed or you have ductwork the furnace is not compatible with. Lennox uses the same motors and my tech guy was telling us that if the ductwork is too small the motor can hunt and have a hard time finding the proper speed. Post some pics of the furnace and ductwork and we may have a better idea of what you have going on there. I balance some of my units with a velometer and that gives you a reading of the velocity/flow which static pressure doesn't do easily. I have this one:http://www.testo.us/online/abaxx-?$part=PORTAL.USA.SimpleContentDesk&$event=show-from-menu&categoryid=6106408


Last edited by yuri; 12-06-2008 at 08:17 PM. Reason: add more info
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2008, 08:37 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5
Default

new Infinity system shows static pressure at 0.09


Thanks. I will see if I can take and (hopefully) upload a photo. I jus now checked my Dehumidifier ductwork (forgot to mention that item!) It is mounted to receive air just after the furnace. The duct going into it is hot and when I opened the unit (as if to take out the filter) I feel alot of warm air moving in it, Bet that is where my air is going. I wondered about the install.
peterv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2008, 11:30 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,778
Default

new Infinity system shows static pressure at 0.09


Is that the ESP in first or second stage.

Posting duct sizes along with pics helps.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2008, 11:53 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,186
Default

new Infinity system shows static pressure at 0.09


There is a continuing below the surface discussions about air velocity. This is a classic example of why I prefer a higher velocity than others in the business.

The solution would be to put in smaller ducts into the rooms. This will increase the pressure and therefore increase velocity.

I redid my home this summer with a new 95+ furnace and reducted the whole place. Now I have very even heat/cool year round. Before some rooms were cold from ducts that were too small, others were cold from ducts that were too big (as in your case).

I can feel the air movement but it is not uncomfortable. The air in the room is stirred up enough to make it even in every corner.

I also have my vents up high on the wall and aim then at the opposite wall floor so they are not obstructed by furniture. They are also on the inside walls and aim at the windows which is where the heat/cold is most noticeable.
__________________
My idea of a perfect day: No where to go and all day to get there.
Marvin Gardens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2008, 12:22 PM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,778
Default

new Infinity system shows static pressure at 0.09


About all he needs is some balancing dampers, to balance the system.
His static will come up then.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Carrier 58MVC low static pressure alarm diy12345678 HVAC 1 11-06-2008 08:21 PM
Filling a Cast Iron radiator system insulatorpro HVAC 7 10-06-2008 11:31 PM
Leaking pressure relief valve Chris Magee Plumbing 12 08-12-2008 07:48 PM
Static Pressure: Rule of Thumb? rjordan392 HVAC 4 06-06-2008 12:55 PM
boiler / Over-pressurizing cparke HVAC 1 05-21-2008 05:54 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.