Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-17-2012, 11:20 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 262
Share |
Default

New HVAC


I am thinking about replacing my current HVAC system to something of higher efficiency (and just new). What information should i share with you to get a better understanding of what qualities or systems i should look for.

I am in a 2700 sq ft house with an unfinished basement, main floor and upstairs.

My current system is a Trane XR90 (i believe). mfr in 2004.

According to this website, i am zone 6
http://greenzone.com/general.php?section_url=12

i dont think my current system is HE, as the intake pipe does not go outside, simple draws from the basement.

Thank you for your input on this.

Amitabh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 11:57 AM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,937
Default

New HVAC


XR 90 probably means 90% efficient as the XR80 is 80% and mid efficiency. You have a builders grade but not bad furnace that is only 8 yrs old and DOES NOT need replacing unless you have $$ burning a hole in your pocket. Any furnace over 90% is high efficient and most can use 1 0r 2 plastic vent pipes even the new ones today. As the builders go with 1 pipe to save $$ but I would not get rid of it.

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 02:33 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 262
Default

New HVAC


Thank you for your reply Yuri. So i really dont need to replace it, eh. Thats good, i get to save some money. When should i replace it? (ie, not being broken and all)
Amitabh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 03:48 PM   #4
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,317
Blog Entries: 1
Default

New HVAC


wait till it's broken to replace it. You have a good furnace. Your furnace can be made more efficient (not use conditioned air for combustion) by installing the intake pipe to the outside. This should be done according to the manual though. It's not just hooking the pipe up and shoving it through the wall or roof.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 04:02 PM   #5
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,734
Default

New HVAC


8 years old does not mean that it is broke. Our unit is going on 8 years, and still runs strong. As long as you maintain it, change the filters on a regular basis, you are fine with it. There are units that are over 40 years old still going strong.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 04:14 PM   #6
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,937
Default

New HVAC


Depending on whether you live in a wide open house or I hear in TO the row houses are reall close together. If the houses are real close together then the exhaust can hit the next one and recirc back to the intake pipe and the furnace won't run with exhaust coming in. Mostly they don't want to drill another hole and use more pipe so they go 1 pipe. Post some pics of the venting where it exits the house. I doubt you will notice a huge NRG saving and having to pay someone several hundred $$ to redo it will never pay for itself in fuel. Ontario is VERY strict about codes with the TSA or whatever they call it monitoring contractors so I WOULD NOT redo it myself for liability reasons. May need a permit and re-inspection if you alter the venting as that is legal venting not DIY stuff.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 09:57 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 262
Default

New HVAC


Thanx for the input everyone. I am not going to do anything. I may however, get a licensed professional to have the intake vent outside (as oppose to its current indoor, basement, location).

Thank you again.
Amitabh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 10:09 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 23
Default

New HVAC


it will be to own, the variable speed DC motors they use to get the 90%+ are $600 rather than $75 as the old AC polarity motors are, sure they save while you run it only to be lost in $300+ induced draft motors, proving devices, $300 ignition modules, $400 circuit boards, etc etc, remember prior to 1078 did you ever think about the furnace? nope and if you did it was a thermocouple for $15 at ACE hardware anyone can install and 30+ yrs service, todays units never last 1/2 that long.

Chimmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thinking about installing my own retrofit AC system-with some help from real HVAC guy BT5150 HVAC 2 08-02-2012 06:43 PM
Runaround - HVAC and HWH proper venting/exhaust denemante HVAC 24 04-05-2011 08:50 PM
moving HVAC system - can I go without gas for a few days? denemante HVAC 2 03-30-2011 04:55 AM
History of HVAC Industry Brands winkydink HVAC 8 03-25-2011 07:28 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.