Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-19-2007, 08:59 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 22
Rewards Points: 10
Default

new honeywell rth6300b to replace very old honeywell thermostat


i have purchased a new honeywell thermostat (rth6300b) to replace an old honeywell thermostat. the only 2 wires from the old thermostat are RED and BLACK with no letter designation anywhere. i only have a heating system with no cooling, the heating system i have is a hot water system with radiators, a gas boiler with a pump. First of all, to help me better understand, what type of heating system do i have? where does the red and black wire go to on the new honeywell digital programmable thermostat? the possible slots on the new honeywell are as follows

G - W(O/B) - NOT USED - Y - R - Rc

I apprciate all your help!

Designman20

Designman20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 01:56 AM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

new honeywell rth6300b to replace very old honeywell thermostat


You mean the thermostat that you have purchased, a new honeywell thermostat (rth6300b) to replace an old honeywell thermostat... How is the difference??



_________________
Programmable Thermostats

MayDix2009 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 04:43 AM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,538
Rewards Points: 2,756
Default

new honeywell rth6300b to replace very old honeywell thermostat


If the new thermostat is battery operated.
R and W.

If it needs power from the boiler, wrong thermostat.
Or you will need to run more wires.

You have a hot water boiler system.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Honeywell Thermostat code 0340-reset? George Foote HVAC 3 02-14-2011 12:52 PM
honeywell chromotherm thermostat - help? mkbgriffen HVAC 4 12-26-2006 12:46 PM
Lux 722E Thermostat mgkicker HVAC 3 10-27-2006 01:40 PM
Honeywell Electric Thermostat Model T498 staylori HVAC 1 01-14-2006 12:25 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.