Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-03-2010, 07:33 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

New Heat Pump..questions?

We recently renovated our attic space to create 2 large rooms. We had installed a 2 ton Whirlpool Heat Pump w/7.5kwh electric strip.

I have never owned a Heat Pump before, so I am new to all of this. It appears the Heat Pump is always running?? I have set the temp in the attic to 68 and the Heat Pump seems to run constantly.

It has been cold here in MA (low 30's to 40's) but I was not sure if the Heat pump is trying to maintain the heat at 67? The attic is insulated well (spray foam) and the aux heat does not kick on unless there is a 3 degree temp differential...from my understanding. I have tested this and the aux does come on if I set the temp 3 degrees higher…

Is this what I can expect from the Heat Pump? to be constantly on? I would image that this would do some damage to the electric bill??

Sorry for asking these newbie questions, I just want to get a feel for what everyone thinks..

Thanks,

ddave23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 05:25 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen

Rewards Points: 54

Not uncommon for a heat pump to run a lot and constantly when temps are in the low 30s.

How big is the attic.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 01:56 AM   #3

It is possible that your heat pump is undersized for the fixture that it is supposed to cool and also when there is a great temperature differential between the fixture and outside temp you will see a faster rate of transfer or heat loss to the outside because heat flows from hot to cold so it wants to get outside. I would suggest insulating the rooms more or possibly looking at a higher btu output heatpump.
Aaron87642 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2010, 04:20 AM   #4