Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-10-2012, 09:11 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 17
Share |
Default

New Furnace won't fire up


I am getting error code E1 . . . “Low Stage Pressure Switch Stuck Closed at Start of heating cycle”

This is a new Goodman 95% 2-stage gas furnace. I have converted to propane (replaced the orifices and the springs), but I have not checked/adjusted the pressure since I cannot get the furnace to fire up.

The blower comes on.

The inducer fan comes on.

The igniter glows.

I have 3 pressure switches. I have blown through the hoses and I have blown into the pressure switches and I can hear a clicking sound.


Any ideas how to diagnose the problem?


Appreciate the help,

Jim33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 09:18 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: winnipeg manitoba canada
Posts: 779
Default

New Furnace won't fire up


is the propane on and all the valves open.. is the gas vavle in the on position...

carmon is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to carmon For This Useful Post:
Jim33 (04-11-2012)
Old 04-10-2012, 09:20 PM   #3
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,556
Default

New Furnace won't fire up


Flue pipe restriction? If old flue (exhaust) pipe was used, remove it and smack it a few times like you would a backtalking girlfriend.

Seriously, sediment can build up in the pipe and block exhaust air flow, the air flow produced by the inducer. Smacking it a few times, open hand and slightly hard, will knock some sediment out. Also, check the roof section of exhaust pipe for obstruction such as bird's nest.

Check for condensate water as well.

Stick a straightened paper clip into all ports from all tubes relating to the pressure switch to make certain they are clear. Check for cracks in the tubes as well. Blow through the tubes themselves to make sure they are clear.

Btw, the pressure switch is sucked closed. If you were to remove the tube to the problem pressure switch FROM THE INDUCER and turn the furnace on heat, continually suck on the tube which should still be connected to the pressure switch, the furnace should light up.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Doc Holliday For This Useful Post:
Jim33 (04-11-2012)
Old 04-11-2012, 10:16 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 17
Default

New Furnace won't fire up


Thanks for the suggestions.


The manual shutoff on the gas line is in the on position.
The gas switch is on.

The furnace has a new PVC exhaust pipe exiting the side of the home. I checked to ensure it was clear.

The furnace has never run, so there is no condensation yet. But, I put water in the drain trap since the instructions say to prime the trap prior to furnace startup.

I checked the hoses and switches with a piece of wire and made sure they were clear.


I tried sucking on the tube from the pressure switch and I heard the switch click, but the results are the same. The igniter glows for a few seconds and then stops. Then I get code E1.


If the gas valve was sending gas to the burner, would I hear a hissing sound? I don't hear or smell gas. I am thinking the gas valve is not sending gas to the burner.


Any more ideas?

I appreciate the help,
Jim33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 10:48 AM   #5
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,489
Default

New Furnace won't fire up


If gas is going through your furnace gas valve then there is no way of it leaving the combustion box for you to smell it except at the the exhaust outlet outside. Try your nose there.

You can usually hear/ feel a small click of the solinoid activating when the valve gets powered up at the same time that the HSI is glowing. A long handeled screwdriver with the business end against the valve and the handle against your ear will act as a stethascope.

You can also use a electrical meter to confirm that the valve is getting 24V when the HSI is glowing.

Your gas valve should have taps at either end to connect up a manometeter to test the pressure before or after the valve. Even if the valve is not working, you should be able to measure the upstream gas pressure.
how is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to how For This Useful Post:
Jim33 (04-11-2012)
Old 04-11-2012, 12:22 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 13
Default

New Furnace won't fire up


i had this problem before, the way i installed the new springs, caused the problem, i replaced the valve and installed the new springs (on a bench) out of the unit, next time i would atleast install them with the furnace laying down or position the valve so the springs drop in, unlike when the valve (and springs) are when the unit is siting upright. also the instructions should say how may turns out after the screw is turned in to its max,,,,,hope this helps
Legacyairsystem is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Legacyairsystem For This Useful Post:
Jim33 (04-11-2012)
Old 04-11-2012, 12:27 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 326
Default

New Furnace won't fire up


Since your hot surface igniotor is glowing, your pressure switch must have made for the inducer blower. Should be a valve on the top of the propane tank outside, possibly another where it comes into the house.

Can you see how much propane you have in your tank from the guage on the top of the tank? Were the lines purged when unit installed? Were the first and second stage regulators adjusted? Why didn"t the installer start up the unit and commission it properly?

I would suggest getting someone in to set it up correctly.
HVACDave is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to HVACDave For This Useful Post:
Jim33 (04-11-2012)
Old 04-11-2012, 04:10 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 17
Default

New Furnace won't fire up


I held a screwdriver against the gas valve and I definitely hear and feel a click about the same time the igniter starts to glow.

My water manometer shows about 9” WC when screwed into the inlet side of the gas valve. The manometer doesn’t move when I hook it up to the upstream side even when I hear the gas valve clicking. It seems I have no gas pressure on the upstream side of the valve when the igniter is glowing.

Shouldn't the gas flow through the valve when it clicks?


Fyi - I have converted the valve to propane (replaced the springs) but I haven’t adjusted the screws since my understanding is this must be done while the furnace is running.

Any more ideas?

Again, I appreciate the help.
Jim33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 04:20 PM   #9
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,503
Default

New Furnace won't fire up


Pull hose of low stage pressure switch. Start furnace, leave it run for 10 seconds, put hose back on pressure switch and see what it does.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
Jim33 (04-11-2012)
Old 04-11-2012, 09:01 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 17
Default

New Furnace won't fire up


I disconnected the hose, tried different time frames, but nothing.

At this point, does it make sense to remove the gas valve and check it for an obstruction?

Thanks,
Jim33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 09:24 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: zentral Iowa
Posts: 1,153
Default

New Furnace won't fire up


Is a flex connector involved?
cleveman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 09:46 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 17
Default

New Furnace won't fire up


Yes. There is a flex connector.
Jim33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 04:07 AM   #13
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,503
Default

New Furnace won't fire up


Should check to see if its getting 24 volt to it first.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
Jim33 (04-12-2012)
Old 04-12-2012, 06:28 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: zentral Iowa
Posts: 1,153
Default

New Furnace won't fire up


I had a friend who was trying to get a furnace running in his garage. There were a few of us helping him and drinking beer. The friend in question would scurry from one shut-off to the other, claiming to not be able to tell if they were on or off. So finally, I loosened up the flex connector where it connected to the furnace and there was no gas.

At this point, everyone gave up on him, and we continued to drink beer only.

About a week later, he announced that we had the flex connector hooked up backwards, and that gas would only flow in one direction through it. I've never heard of such a thing and I figured he just finally got his head out of his ass and figured out the shut-off valves.

But maybe there is such a flex connector, and maybe you have one...
cleveman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 06:48 AM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 17
Default

New Furnace won't fire up


"flex connector" - I thought you were referring to the Brasscraft flexible stainless steel appliance connector . . . whatever people call it.

I was wondering where you were going with that question.

The shutoff is in the "off" position at the moment. I only turn it on when I am working on the unit and I will continue to leave it off until I figure out what the problem is.

The manometer shows gas pressure on the inlet side of the valve. I don't have a voltmeter that measures 24 volts . . . but I can hear and feel the gas valve click when the heater is in startup mode. I checked the wiring against the diagram to ensure it was wired properly and the connections were tight.

I plan to call a pro today. Appreciate everybody's assistance. Thanks,

Jim33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
lint/dust from furnace uksparky HVAC 15 02-16-2012 05:01 PM
Changed gas ball valve and York furnace won't fire, please help. philsoldat HVAC 35 11-03-2010 11:12 AM
furnace indicates calling for heat but no fire pocketrods HVAC 1 10-29-2010 08:09 PM
my furnace wont fire... please help! chrider88 HVAC 7 01-22-2010 09:43 PM
Luxaire furnace fails to fire cheesegrump HVAC 1 01-10-2006 07:36 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.