Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-09-2011, 08:41 PM   #1
Member
 
gkaro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 96
Rewards Points: 75
Default

New furnace vibration


Hi all.

Wondering if the techs can help me.
A new keeprite 60K 2 stage furnace just installed with all new ductwork...both hot and return ducts.

On low stage, she runs like a clock. On HIGH there is a constant vibration that I can't pinpoint. The entire thing shakes.

I removed the front lower door in case there was resistance on the intake side but no difference.

Any suggestions.

gkaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2011, 07:17 AM   #2
Member
 
gkaro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 96
Rewards Points: 75
Default

New furnace vibration


Budgematic

gkaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2011, 10:06 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 50
Rewards Points: 25
Default

New furnace vibration


Sounds like maybe the blower wheel got knocked out of balance during shipping and installation.
Poppyloppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2011, 10:12 AM   #4
Member
 
concretemasonry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Minneapolis/St. Paul, Minnesota - Latitude 45.057 Longitude -93.074
Posts: 3,785
Rewards Points: 2,058
Default

New furnace vibration


Did you do the install or have a contractor do it?

Vibrations are very difficult since ductwork can magnify them and make them seem to be where they are not. Do you have enough isolation points to prevent the vibrations from being transferred and then harmonizing or strengthening with others?

Dick
concretemasonry is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2011, 11:39 AM   #5
Member
 
gkaro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 96
Rewards Points: 75
Default

New furnace vibration


A contractor did the work. Not sure what you mean by isolation points.....?
gkaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2011, 04:12 PM   #6
Experienced
 
Jackofall1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Southern Michigan
Posts: 2,822
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

New furnace vibration


Did you call the contractor back to have him listen to this annoyance?

Isolation would be a flex connection between the furnace and the plunum to isolate the furnace from the ducting.

Mark
__________________
When its all said and done there is usually more said than done
Jackofall1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2011, 04:43 PM   #7
Member
 
gkaro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 96
Rewards Points: 75
Default

New furnace vibration


Thanks mark
I have not called him back yet. He's need screwing around with me since the start and I just want to be knowledgeable before he cone in and tells me that there's nothing wrong ...or that I did something.

There is a yellow canvas damper between the riser of the intake and the intake duct. Nothing on the hot side.
gkaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2011, 04:57 PM   #8
Experienced
 
Jackofall1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Southern Michigan
Posts: 2,822
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

New furnace vibration


Quote:
Originally Posted by gkaro View Post
Thanks mark
I have not called him back yet. He's need screwing around with me since the start and I just want to be knowledgeable before he cone in and tells me that there's nothing wrong ...or that I did something.

There is a yellow canvas damper between the riser of the intake and the intake duct. Nothing on the hot side.
I would say that is yor problem then, there should be a flex connection on the hot side as well.

Mark
__________________
When its all said and done there is usually more said than done
Jackofall1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2011, 06:03 PM   #9
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,592
Rewards Points: 2,322
Default

New furnace vibration


We don't put yellow "canvas connector" which really is not canvas anymore but neoprene on hot air plenums. It dries out in a couple of years from the heat and cracks and leaks lots of air. The old canvas connector took years for that to happen. Your ductwork may be too small or the fan is running too fast. The installer can do a temp rise test and slow down the fan by changing dip switches on the circuit board if it is running too cool/too fast.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2011, 07:48 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Southeast US
Posts: 244
Rewards Points: 150
Default

New furnace vibration


Does the blower wheel spin smoothly, or can you see a 'wobble' or 'inbalance'? You should view it at both low and high speeds. You'll have to remove the blower door and hold the door switch. Some blower wheels are difficult to view if the blower compartment is tight. You'll need a flash light. Be aware of hands and fingers (never place your hands near a moving blower wheel)!

The vibration you describe is not normal and should be addressed. If anyone says differently, you're talking to the wrong person.

Mark

rightit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water Inside/Around American Standard Furnace michrob HVAC 8 12-08-2011 03:51 PM
Furnace motor vibration elou795 HVAC 4 11-19-2010 08:45 PM
Loud vibration of indoor coil in heat mode john-hvac-new HVAC 3 11-03-2009 09:27 AM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 01:55 PM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 01:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.