New Furnace & Plenum Install Question - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-28-2012, 11:20 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

New Furnace & Plenum Install Question


Description:
I recently removed an old (25 yrs) gas up-flow single stage furnace. The furnace sat on a very firm plenum base with a side opening return and this base raised the unit about 24 inches from the ground. There was an evaporator coil mounted in the standard top of furnace position. The plenum base set-up seem to be moderately lacking some efficiency and filtering in its design.

Question:
Will it make much of a difference if I install the new furnace on the floor and place a 24 inch plenum to connect the evaporator coil to the new furnaces heat exchanger top opening? I am basically eliminating the old furnace base type install and substituting a plenum on top to make up the distance. I am not in a position to move the coil and I really did not want to go back to the plenum base design.

Suggestions / Opinions please...

Advertisement

rb404 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 02:48 PM   #2
Part of the Clover Leaf
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NW Burbs of Detroit Mi.
Posts: 1,107
Rewards Points: 500
Default

New Furnace & Plenum Install Question


I would normally say yes as long as the bottom is not connected into the cold air return.

Knowing size of home and and a pic of the furnace would help a lot.

Advertisement

hvac5646 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 05:59 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

New Furnace & Plenum Install Question


Is the furnace in a garage? If so the furnace has to be kept raised off the floor.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 12:29 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

New Furnace & Plenum Install Question


The home is about 1200-1500 sq ft. The furnace location is a hall closet and it will be similar to this type of standard model. http://www.alpinehomeair.com/partner...1204_640_0.jpg I suppose I could sit the furnace on the plenum I have. It was custom done buy a company here in Atlanta but the weight of a furnace seems a bit much to me for it's design. I would much rather sit the lighter coil assembly on top.
rb404 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gas furnace exhaust vent question nowell HVAC 7 01-30-2012 09:31 AM
Water Inside/Around American Standard Furnace michrob HVAC 8 12-08-2011 04:51 PM
Oil fired furnace and hot water heater question steveinpa Plumbing 3 08-10-2010 09:42 AM
Goodman Gas furnace, A/C will not run new install RCApp HVAC 5 08-04-2009 10:00 PM
Furnace port, and combustion chamber crack question. cjf1980 HVAC 0 07-27-2009 10:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts