Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-10-2013, 10:21 PM   #31
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,358
Share |
Default

New furnace needed - replace A/C as well?


if it was my service call I would cut a 12x12 inch access panel into the plenum below where the drain comes out to inspect the coil and clean it. they can also see if any water is now leaking inside. sometimes the big suction insulated line sweats inside where there is no insulation or it touches the sheet metal and water runs down which it looks like too me. doubt they did that but the line needs some clearance where it enters the sheet metal and I usually make that hole bigger and stuff some insulation in. get them back and make an access hole and see what really is going on inside. does not look like a major issue but it needs checking now. lots of jobs need some tweaking or fine tuning after install.

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by yuri; 08-10-2013 at 10:26 PM.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to yuri For This Useful Post:
escapehatch (08-11-2013)
Old 09-05-2013, 01:28 PM   #32
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 16
Default

New furnace needed - replace A/C as well?


They will be coming back to take a look again. I hope the weather gets warmer or there will be no moisture from the A/C...

We have the Lennox SLP98uh which has a variable speed blower. Should we use "on" or "circulate" to have the air circulate in the summer?

Can the blower speed be changed easily? It runs quite low when A/C or heat off.
escapehatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 01:49 PM   #33
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,358
Default

New furnace needed - replace A/C as well?


Circulate runs it with a timer. 20 mins on, 40 mins off/hr or however it is setup in the tstat program. ON runs it on low continuously which most people use.

The low is about 400 cfm which is just enough to move air and not feel cold and drafty in the winter. It is not easy to change as the installer would have to do it on the circuit board. I would leave it alone or it may be drafty later on.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 08:26 AM   #34
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 16
Default

New furnace needed - replace A/C as well?


Update: The new EL296V furnace has been performing well so far. Overall it is much quieter than my old furnace and the heat is much more even, without extremes.

Two things I have noticed: When it switches on I hear a "thunk" sound, possibly as the gas is switched on.

Also, recently I notice when it switches off, the fan makes a spin-down noise which sounds like a car engine decelerating (although quieter of course). At first I thought it was a car on the street.

Any advise (again) would be appreciated.
escapehatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 08:31 AM   #35
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,358
Default

New furnace needed - replace A/C as well?


Glad 2 hear it is comfy and working well. the thunk is the fast open gas valve and I can hear mine and it is normal. the spinning noise is the nature of an ECM motor. they make that sound when slowing down and at startup and is normal.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 08:54 AM   #36
Member
 
raylo32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Maryland (DC 'burbs)
Posts: 1,024
Default

New furnace needed - replace A/C as well?


Interesting about the "thunk". My old Bryant 80% that I replaced a few years ago made quite a thunk as the gas valve opened. I figured it was normal and the furnace never had any issues. The York TM9V (96%, 2 stage ecm) I replaced it with does not thunk on opening. I guess it is just a different design?
__________________
Live long and prosper.
raylo32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 09:23 AM   #37
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,358
Default

New furnace needed - replace A/C as well?


Lennox and Bryant use mostly White Rodgers gas valves nowadays and I guess that is just the way they sound. The Honeywells seem quieter. Not familiar with York.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2013, 08:02 AM   #38
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 16
Default

New furnace needed - replace A/C as well?


The sound is disappointing given I purchased the high-end furnace because it was supposed to be quietest, especially since I may have it for another 20 years.

I am wondering if some bat insulation shoved in the empty spaces above the ducts and above the furnace would help. Would this be okay and according to code? (When the fan noise reaches a certain frequency range it vibrates the duct, noticeable directly about the furnace. )

Also, why didn't I notice the fan sound during A/C time?
escapehatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2013, 08:36 AM   #39
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,358
Default

New furnace needed - replace A/C as well?


you need to leave 1" clearance above the furnace plenum and then adding insulation is okay. if the duct vibrates then you need to get it secured or adjusted. AC uses a different speed then heat so the frequency and sound is different. I have never had any of your complaints from my customers but know that sound from mine and it does not bother me. The SLP modulating furnace is the quietest and has none of your issues but is more expensive. yours is just a very nice 2 stage furnace same as carrier or any other brand and uses the same motor and gas valve.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2013, 07:35 AM   #40
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 16
Default

New furnace needed - replace A/C as well?


Sorry, the furnace I have is in fact the SLP98U!
escapehatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2013, 08:25 AM   #41
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,358
Default

New furnace needed - replace A/C as well?


then the thunk is not the gas valve as that valve is slow opening and works off vacuum. I have never had any noise complaints about that furnace or the G71. Get the installer out to check the issues.

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Natural Gas Cost For Furnace 1 Hour Run Time hammerlane HVAC 15 11-11-2013 10:34 AM
Furnace Blower Problem, help needed!!! lddnyp HVAC 4 01-15-2013 01:02 PM
Quote for new furnace. Reasonable? dengle HVAC 16 03-04-2012 07:01 AM
Thermostat issues on old furnace - questions before I replace thermostat. Calab HVAC 11 02-18-2012 08:43 AM
Help Needed ... turn on circulation pump when furnace in AC mode? Diranged HVAC 12 06-04-2009 06:33 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.