Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-23-2010, 05:19 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

new furnace install


HI. I have a 53 yr. old home.ranch style,2100sq.ft. i recentley converted to gas. i am in the market to replace my oil fired furnace,with a new gas unit. I also have a 3.5 ton a/c unit. I have been talking to contractors in my area,and i have been getting different opions on this job.i am being told to use a high eff. unit. two stage,variable speed. i also have been told to use an 80 or 90% unit. My supplys to each room are all 4inch and the one contractor said that with the 4inch supplys the variable speed would be loud. i have a total of 18 supplys in the house. does anyone have any ideas on this matter. The a/c unit is also working with the same duct system.

fc-jersey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2010, 05:47 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,489
Default

new furnace install


If the furnace is sized properly. A VS blower won't be loud.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
fc-jersey (07-23-2010)
Old 07-23-2010, 07:18 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Default

new furnace install


If you live in the US and pay taxes the 95% AFUE is going to get you a huge tax credit,30% of the cost up to $1500. It's also goingto save $150-$200 a year in fuel vs the 80% for the next 20+ years. The cost difference is many times less then the savings.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2010, 07:37 PM   #4
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,992
Default

new furnace install


Beware of the cost issue. The high end units (deluxe models) of the higher end brands like Lennox, Trane etc have more deluxe circuit boards with more dip switches and more specific ability to set their VS blowers over a larger range. The cheaper units have VERY basic adjustments. That can be a issue for you as if there is no adjustability then the contractor cannot fine tune it as well. You get what you pay for.

Do you own heat loss and load calculation to make sure you get the right sized furnace.Load Calculator
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Oil furnace / tank questions... pure_energy1 HVAC 26 06-22-2009 08:47 PM
Oil furnace does not fire up sbhavinm HVAC 5 01-17-2009 07:06 AM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 01:45 AM
Installing a new Furnace, Shoud I install an A/C Coil Now? hartkem HVAC 1 11-10-2008 09:31 AM
How to install an expansion tank in my hot water furnace? DanBress HVAC 18 10-08-2008 03:57 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.