Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-20-2012, 08:41 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 8
Share |
Default

New furnace /cold basement


All
We have been dealing with this issue for 20 plus years and need someone that's been around to help figure out this problem.
The issue is that we have a 2200 sqft daylight basement home thats all finished.
Built in 1964 has a 80k 76% forced air furnace with a heat pump. The basement is always ten degrees cooler even downstairs even with the fan running continually.
I received four bids to replace the furnace and add a additional return air downstairs.All bids received were basically the same to install a 95% 60k modulating valve varaible speed furnace of different brands.
We went with the Rheem unit and are disapointed so far.
The vent outlets have hardly any air flow now when the fan is set on to run continuiously.
I explained to all the guys giving bids that we need something that will mix the air from both levels to have it livable.
What can be done to remedy this situation?


Last edited by jlzllc; 05-20-2012 at 08:44 PM.
jlzllc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 08:56 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,489
Default

New furnace /cold basement


How open is the basement.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 09:04 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 8
Default

New furnace /cold basement


There is a family room,two bedrooms,a full bath, and hobby room with the furnace. Each room has its own register.
jlzllc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 09:06 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,489
Default

New furnace /cold basement


Its own supply. Do they also have their own return? Are the supply registers in the ceiling, or low on the wall.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 09:15 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 8
Default

New furnace /cold basement


That is correct all rooms have supply registers in the ceiling in the basement but no returns.
When we installed the new furnace we installed a 16x20 return about 10 feet from the furnace in the trunk line in the familyroom.
jlzllc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 09:23 PM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,489
Default

New furnace /cold basement


Mod furnaces don't do well with ceiling supply registers in basements. The air flow is too low to gt a good mix. Not having a return in the other rooms means they will be cold.

You need returns added to those rooms9except the bathroom).

Is the ceiling drywall, or a drop ceiling. if its a drop ceiling, balancing dampers can be installed in the supplies to force more of the air to the basement rooms.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 09:35 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 8
Default

New furnace /cold basement


Its all sheetrock and finished no drop ceiling except where you follow the trunkline its boxed. We tried adjusting the openings at the registers to damper the air with not much success.
The old furnace ran roughly 1400 cfm where the new unit wont go past 1000 cfm heating or 800 on continuious fan.
jlzllc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 04:12 AM   #8
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,489
Default

New furnace /cold basement


The thermostat wire connections can be rewired at the furnace to get a higher blower speed/CFM in continuous. They should also be able to set it for a bit more air flow in heat mode.

There is no cheap solution for your set up.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (05-21-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Natural Gas Cost For Furnace 1 Hour Run Time hammerlane HVAC 15 11-11-2013 10:34 AM
Clearance between wood furnace and propane furnace bhry HVAC 3 01-07-2012 01:18 PM
Metal duct from furnace leading through a basement hole Arjun007 HVAC 65 12-14-2011 05:38 PM
Basement flooded with the furnace taking in water, what should I be doing for safety? Bellofjdiy HVAC 5 08-28-2011 06:53 PM
good flooring over cement basement and near to a GFA furnace? idic5 Flooring 3 05-20-2009 11:38 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.