New Furnace Blows Cold Air - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-07-2009, 10:24 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Question

New furnace blows cold air


Garrison gas forced air furnace. Company installed 4 days ago, said it would be better and more cost effective then fixing old one. Now it blows cold air, they came back and turned fan down air has a "hint" of warmth in it. Set it to 70 degrees and it will not shut off because it wont get to 70 in house. (Very small house I will add.) The tech guy sais it is normal for the high efficient unit. Iam not understanding it, the duct work doesnt even get warm, everything appears to be working fine, the vent pipe is to hot to touch, flame looks good etc... Any comments? Please give me your thoughts.

Advertisement

Scottkauff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2009, 10:50 AM   #2
Member
 
JohnH1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 428
Rewards Points: 250
Default

New furnace blows cold air


No matter what you should be able to reach set temp of 70 deg. Eather the unit may be to small (not likley) or they did not do a proper set up of the install. Check gas pressure, temp rise, Static pressure or combustion test. Again this is only a guess. If you have a tempature sensor/thermometer of some sort. you should check the return air temp and then the supply air temp. Then compair to the furnace tag temp rise it is probly in the area of 30 to 60 deg to see if you are running within recomendations.

Advertisement

JohnH1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2009, 08:31 PM   #3
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

New furnace blows cold air


Is it a 80% or 90% efficient furnace. What temp is it in the house?

Also, you must understand that your old furnace probably threw 160*F air but lost a lot of usable heat up the chimney as waste.

New furnaces put more heat in the home but with about 130to 140*F air.

Try holding your hand over the register for a longer period of time and then see if it does not feel hotter.

While your at it how big is the house and do you have an electronic thermostat?


(got a feeling about this one)
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2009, 11:12 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 42
Rewards Points: 25
Default

New furnace blows cold air


check to see if there is a reset button .
metx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2009, 11:15 AM   #5
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

New furnace blows cold air


Quote:
Originally Posted by metx View Post
check to see if there is a reset button .

Where did you get that pearl of wisdom from?
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2009, 01:00 PM   #6
Member
 
HvacWiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Northwest Ohio
Posts: 286
Rewards Points: 250
Default

New furnace blows cold air


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
Where did you get that pearl of wisdom from?


HvacWiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2009, 01:42 PM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,573
Rewards Points: 4,784
Default

New furnace blows cold air


Did you have them come back again yet.

Look on the data plate.
It will have a min and max temp rise.
While they are there. Have them check that it is within that min and max range.

Let us know what they do, and say.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2009, 12:47 AM   #8
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

New furnace blows cold air


OP looked like another troll and didn't come back.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2009, 04:11 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Western Kentucky
Posts: 118
Rewards Points: 75
Default

New furnace blows cold air


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scottkauff View Post
everything appears to be working fine, the vent pipe is to hot to touch, flame looks good etc... Any comments? Please give me your thoughts.
Here is a clue - what high efficiency furnace has a vent pipe that is too hot to touch? somebody is being funny. Also if everything is working fine then you have no problem.

The remotest possibly for a hot vent stack would be a complete blockage of heat exchanger air along with a few temp sensor failures - it was pointed out earlier to do a static pressure test.
hychesee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2009, 11:38 AM   #10
not a newbie
 
jmcqueen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

New furnace blows cold air



metx, reset switch? yeeeaaaahhhhh....he also might want to check the fill level on the flux capacitor while he's in there poking around.
jmcqueen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2009, 01:10 PM   #11
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

New furnace blows cold air


Like I said, OP was a troll

Advertisement

__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My furnace blows cold air all day Lucky Strike HVAC 72 02-03-2009 09:45 AM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 02:55 PM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 02:45 AM
CARRIER 58RAV Furnace Blows Cold Air-No Heat sarosie HVAC 2 12-05-2007 01:00 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts