Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-06-2013, 06:25 PM   #46
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Greater Detroit area
Posts: 391
Share |
Default

New furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Home warranty company buys it, then the contractor has the choice of it being shipped to his shop, or he can pick it up at the supplier.

The home warranty company gets the furnace for less then a contractor can buy it(they buy hundreds a month).

The contractor gets paid the same amount of money if its a 40,000 or 140,000 BTU furnace.

The add ons/non covered upgrades for code, are the only way the contractor actually makes any money.
The Home Warranty company pays something like up to 4 hours of labor on top of the furnace itself

french_guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 06:33 PM   #47
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,732
Default

New furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by french_guy View Post
The Home Warranty company pays something like up to 4 hours of labor on top of the furnace itself
They have fixed prices. So the contractor gets 4 hours of labor, at what the home warrant company things the labor rate should be. Not what the contractor normally charges.

I charge more money for a condenser fan motor and to change it out, then they pay to install a furnace.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 06:48 PM   #48
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 1,059
Default

New furnace


4 hours to do a furnace changeout seems very light!
__________________
digitalplumber is just a name for use here, I am not a plumber!
digitalplumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 06:51 PM   #49
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Greater Detroit area
Posts: 391
Default

New furnace


I agree..............but Home Warranty are insurance company, so I guess they try to save as much as they can !!!!
french_guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 07:16 PM   #50
Experienced HVAC Tech
 
HVAC1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 357
Default

New furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere
They have fixed prices. So the contractor gets 4 hours of labor, at what the home warrant company things the labor rate should be. Not what the contractor normally charges. I charge more money for a condenser fan motor and to change it out, then they pay to install a furnace.
With us the warranty company lets us bid and install and sell whatever brand furnace we want and they through $1545 at us. Whatever the difference to the bid is out of Home Owners pocket. If they want or choose an upgrade it is added to homeowners cost. I guess the warranty company that uses us give a lot more freedom than other ones. For a repair we determine if it really should be covered, if it is then we call warranty company and say what it will cost and they pay it no matter cost. They must trust me

I really like this warranty company and will always stand up for then and watch theirs and the home owners backs
HVAC1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 07:33 PM   #51
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Blog Entries: 1
Default

New furnace


Warranty companies differ just like contractors...

4 hours or less is normal for a low efficiency to mid (80%) efficiency change out.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 07:57 PM   #52
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 1,059
Default

New furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by HVAC1000 View Post
With us the warranty company lets us bid and install and sell whatever brand furnace we want and they through $1545 at us. Whatever the difference to the bid is out of Home Owners pocket. If they want or choose an upgrade it is added to homeowners cost. I guess the warranty company that uses us give a lot more freedom than other ones. For a repair we determine if it really should be covered, if it is then we call warranty company and say what it will cost and they pay it no matter cost. They must trust me

I really like this warranty company and will always stand up for then and watch theirs and the home owners backs

Would you PM me the company you like? I am about to sell a condo and they sound like a decent warranty company.
__________________
digitalplumber is just a name for use here, I am not a plumber!
digitalplumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2013, 05:43 AM   #53
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Greater Detroit area
Posts: 391
Default

New furnace


Now, I need to buy a new thermostat....I want a wifi one. NEST looks nice, but its expensive
Costco sells a Honeywell for $99, but the access to the thermostat is thru a proprietary website, not directly from my network. So if no internet, no access....
Any recommendation?
french_guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2013, 05:53 AM   #54
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Blog Entries: 1
Default

New furnace


All wifi thermostats require internet. Honeywell has billions of dollars and won't let the website go down other than for scheduled maintenance. Personally I like and use the honeywell thermostats. Ecobee is ok, but I don't like the touchscreen version... I also don't like how hard the website is to navigate. Ecobee is also up there in cost. Speaking of cost, i recommend you spend a fair amount of money on a wifi thermostat (over $99). Reason being is quality and features. I have used nest and removed multiple nest thermostats that had bad sub-bases. IMO, nest is not very user friendly and is ugly, especially when used with the white wall cover plate. Nest has a lot of problems... some are able to overcome them, but I think they are junk.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2013, 06:17 AM   #55
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Greater Detroit area
Posts: 391
Default

New furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvactech126 View Post
All wifi thermostats require internet. Honeywell has billions of dollars and won't let the website go down other than for scheduled maintenance. Personally I like and use the honeywell thermostats. Ecobee is ok, but I don't like the touchscreen version... I also don't like how hard the website is to navigate. Ecobee is also up there in cost. Speaking of cost, i recommend you spend a fair amount of money on a wifi thermostat (over $99). Reason being is quality and features. I have used nest and removed multiple nest thermostats that had bad sub-bases. IMO, nest is not very user friendly and is ugly, especially when used with the white wall cover plate. Nest has a lot of problems... some are able to overcome them, but I think they are junk.
Which Honeywell would you recommend?
french_guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2013, 06:25 AM   #56
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Blog Entries: 1
Default

New furnace


Do you have accessories such as a humidifier or ventilation?
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2013, 06:29 AM   #57
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Blog Entries: 1
Default

New furnace


With no accessories I recommend the RTH8580WF or the RTH9580WF.

8580 seems outdated when compared side to side with the 9580.

The 9580 is also a bit more user friendly, however, the cost difference is big.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS

Last edited by hvactech126; 11-07-2013 at 06:32 AM.
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2013, 06:34 AM   #58
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Greater Detroit area
Posts: 391
Default

New furnace


I have a humidifier on the furnace....
What do you mean by "ventilation"?
french_guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2013, 06:42 AM   #59
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Blog Entries: 1
Default

New furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by french_guy View Post
I have a humidifier on the furnace....
What do you mean by "ventilation"?
HRV or ERV or a duct to the outdoors with a damper on it.

Regardless, with a humidifier, I would get a thermostat that can also control it. That can get much more expensive though.

TH8321R1001 with EIM THM5421R1021 and you will need a gateway THM6000R1002

OR

YTHX9421R5085 and gateway THM6000R1002
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2013, 07:04 AM   #60
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,220
Default

New furnace


Honeywell is very good. all the high end Lennox wi-fi and all Lennox thermostats are made by them. you can use the humidifier the way it is with its own humidistat and save a few $$ also. IMO wi-fi is a bit of a toy but if love technology and must have the latest Eye phone etc go 4 it. unless you want to be able to start your AC from the cottage a few hours before you get home then I don't really see the point.

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".

Last edited by yuri; 11-07-2013 at 07:07 AM.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Furnace Model # Feh-015-04 clicking but not turning on? haimei HVAC 1 12-14-2010 05:01 PM
Payne PG9YAB high efficiency 95% furnace water draining problem jchen64 HVAC 9 12-06-2010 06:42 PM
Carrier Infinity 69 Trouble Code 42 bodya1 HVAC 4 12-05-2010 06:43 PM
Problem with Trane gas furnace quovadis HVAC 17 12-22-2008 01:12 PM
Olsen BFL 120 Furnace DaleB HVAC 12 12-19-2008 10:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.