Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-21-2011, 02:51 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

New flame sensor not working


I just installed a new flame sensor/ignitor combo in my Heil SP80 furnace. It STILL WON"T DETECT A FLAME!!!!!!

At first, just after installation, the small gas line that provides the gas for a pilot light worked perfectly. The ignitor got bright red, then ignited the gas and the pilot light was lit. The flame sensor STILL didn't signal the controller to turn on the gas for the burners though.

Now, the pilot light gas won't turn on at all. I'm at the end of my rope here and really need some help.

Any advice???

tryintofixit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2011, 03:57 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,090
Rewards Points: 74
Default

New flame sensor not working


Probably wasn't the sensor to begin with. Check connections at gas valve.

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2011, 08:52 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,341
Rewards Points: 34
Default

New flame sensor not working


heil and tempstar had a connection problem on the older units with smart valves where ignitor pluged on to valve check this connection.....you may need a new valve.....how old is unit again
ben's plumbing is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2011, 09:14 PM   #4
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,764
Rewards Points: 18
Default

New flame sensor not working


Flame sensors work by sensing the passing electrical signal through the flame, tested in micro amps.

You need a good ground (wire) for this to work. Check all connections, making certain of course that the main power to the unit has a ground wire and that it and all grounds (as well as neutrals) are connected properly.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 03:03 AM   #5
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Rewards Points: 0
Blog Entries: 1
Default

New flame sensor not working


SMART (dumb) VALVE problem!!!
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
York Diamond 80 Intermitten Flame Setdyi HVAC 38 02-08-2014 12:20 PM
Carrier furnace flame rollout keeps tripping - why? Billyv HVAC 29 10-24-2011 08:48 PM
Maytag IntelliDry pye/4500 Dryer not working 57_Hemi Electrical 2 11-19-2010 09:28 PM
flame sensor problem junkcollector HVAC 1 12-09-2009 08:19 AM
Two switch in one box: only one working jdtsmith Electrical 12 09-29-2008 01:32 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.