New Ductwork Question - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-22-2013, 08:51 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 248
Rewards Points: 150
Default

new ductwork question


i want to update my ductwork in my house, i think it should be very easy as i live in a 1 story ranch and i tore my whole basement out and is accessible and the current trunks are straight runs. it would take me 10 minutes to tear out the old stuff. they are original and dirty as hell and i think too small for my house. where can i find or how to figure out what size i should get so i can get even flow through my house? i also want to move one register over 2 bays so it isnt being blocked by couch. im sure it isnt as easy as it seems but it doesnt look too difficult at all once i get my calculations. are there certain sizes for code now too? thanks

Advertisement

jhack836 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 09:28 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,570
Rewards Points: 4,778
Default

new ductwork question


Need to know how much air each room should have. And then can size trunk line based on that.

Advertisement

__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 10:08 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 248
Rewards Points: 150
Default

new ductwork question


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Need to know how much air each room should have. And then can size trunk line based on that.
i have 4 bedroonms aprox 11x11
2 bathrooms aprox 7*5
living room approx 20*15
dining room/kitchen aprox 15*8

basement approx 80*25


or should i get exact sq ft numbers instead of a approx?

the trunk i have downstairs is 9.5 wide by 8 in tall and 15ft one way off the furnance and the other trunk is 8ft in opposite direction right now. furnace is in the middle of the house

i got a new high eff furnace last yr but forgot what the btu was but i know it was enough to work if i ever finished the basement too

Last edited by jhack836; 03-23-2013 at 12:11 PM.
jhack836 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 10:19 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,570
Rewards Points: 4,778
Default

new ductwork question


Actual sizes.

What you posted makes your basement bigger then your first floor by 1,026 sq ft.

First floor came out to 974 sq ft, basement came out to 2,000 sq ft.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 10:58 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 248
Rewards Points: 150
Default

new ductwork question


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Actual sizes.

What you posted makes your basement bigger then your first floor by 1,026 sq ft.

First floor came out to 974 sq ft, basement came out to 2,000 sq ft.

ok i will measure in the morning, i will double check them tomarrow. i over estimated basement. i was thinking linear feet becaus of my gutters but included my garage.
jhack836 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 12:11 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 248
Rewards Points: 150
Default

new ductwork question


ok i was pretty close on some of my estimates..

BR1 13*12
BR2 11*11
BR3 12*10
BR4 12*11

BATH1 7*5
BATH2 6*4

HALLWAY 17*3

KITCHEN 12*7

DINING ROOM 10*10

LIVING ROOM 19*14

BASEMENT 48*25

so if i calculated right the main floor and basement should beabout the same right around 1100-1200 sq ft each
jhack836 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 12:23 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 248
Rewards Points: 150
Default

new ductwork question


with the furnace almost center in my basement the current trunks i have are 24ft long and are 8in wide by 9.5in thick and the other trunk is 11ft by 8in by 9.5in

the cold air return trunk is 7ft long by 15in wide by 8in tall

the return off the furance that connects to the trunk is 22in wide by 7in by 6.5ft tall

i installed a new 95% eff coleman furnace a yr and half ago but i have to find my book to get the specs on it.

registers..

1 in each bedroom
1 in each bathroom
2 in living room
1 in kitchen/dining

so 9 total registers in my house
jhack836 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 02:00 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 248
Rewards Points: 150
Default

new ductwork question


its a coleman 95.5% afue single stage multi position furnace, is there anything else you need to know to get the calculations i need? do you need the a/c info? thanks
jhack836 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 03:27 PM   #9
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,570
Rewards Points: 4,778
Default

new ductwork question


Size of furnace and A/C.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 04:20 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 248
Rewards Points: 150
Default

new ductwork question


furnace

btu input 80000 output 76000
1200 nominal cfm

33in high 29.5in deep 17.5 width

is that what i need to let know know for the furnace? i appreciate the help!
jhack836 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 04:37 PM   #11
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,570
Rewards Points: 4,778
Default

new ductwork question


Br1 125CFM 7"
br2 97CFM 7"
br3 96CFM 7"
br4 106CFM 7"
bath1 28CFM 4"
bath2 19CFM 4"
hallway 41CFM
kitchen 67CFM 6"
dining 80CFM 6"
living 214CFM 1-7" and 1-6"

Can't give trunk sizes since i don't know which branches are off which trunk line.

Basement should have it own trunk line. Above sizing allows 323 CFM for heating the basement.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
jhack836 (03-24-2013)
Old 03-23-2013, 04:46 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 248
Rewards Points: 150
Default

new ductwork question


the 11 ft trunk has registers for..

BR1
BR2
BR4
BATH1
BATH 2

the 25 ft trunk has

2 IN LR
KITCHEN
BR3

the basement doesnt have any registers, it just has 1 vent in the 11ft trunk and 3 vents in the 25ft trunk. some day i would like to finish half the basment(the side with the 25ft trunk) which would be about 27*25 so 675sq ft.
jhack836 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 05:00 PM   #13
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,570
Rewards Points: 4,778
Default

new ductwork question


Your furnace is most likely over sized, and probably blows out hard at the registers nearest the furnace. So run a trunk line for the basement now while your doing the other 2.

The 11 foot ;ong trunk can be 10X8. The 25 foot trunk can be 14X8. A trunk line for the basement can then be 10X8.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
jhack836 (03-24-2013)
Old 03-23-2013, 05:11 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 248
Rewards Points: 150
Default

new ductwork question


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Br1 125CFM 7"
br2 97CFM 7"
br3 96CFM 7"
br4 106CFM 7"
bath1 28CFM 4"
bath2 19CFM 4"
hallway 41CFM
kitchen 67CFM 6"
dining 80CFM 6"
living 214CFM 1-7" and 1-6"

Can't give trunk sizes since i don't know which branches are off which trunk line.

Basement should have it own trunk line. Above sizing allows 323 CFM for heating the basement.
all the lines i have now the run off the trunks to the registers are 7in
jhack836 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 04:07 AM   #15
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,570
Rewards Points: 4,778
Default

new ductwork question


They can all stay 7" then.

Advertisement

__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Basement framing - drywall ceiling question tmhouse Building & Construction 1 07-11-2011 01:11 PM
Branching ductwork from a wall stack cekrauss HVAC 3 07-08-2011 05:00 AM
Ductwork on a SOUTH DAKOTA remodel asorenso General DIY Discussions 1 02-11-2009 06:55 AM
Ductwork question veesubotee HVAC 4 01-27-2009 09:24 AM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 09:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts