Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-27-2011, 05:21 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

New Carrier Furnace and A/C

I am diy over my head on this project so am having an expert take on project of replacing our furnace and ac. I also realize this is a busy time of year but I was hoping to obtain some feedback on two Carrier Performance Series furnace and ac units and their respective costs. I try to do a lot of research on my own but this is a field where I have no experience and the amount of options and information is overwhelming and therefore, would greatly appreciate any insight.

My HVAC gentleman prepared 3 estimates, good, better and best. i am looking at the better option. Below are the quotes I received for the better and best options:

OPTION 1 - BETTER:
24ABC630A003 AC 16 SEER
59SP5A060E 96% Efficient Gas Furnace
Programmable Thermostat
Copper Line Set
PAD
Whip
Disconnect
PVC
Sheet Metal
Labor
TOTAL: $6065 with $400 tax credit
WITH HEAT PUMP: ADD $600 with a $500 tax credit.

OPTION 2 - BEST
24ANB736A003 AC 17 SEER
59MN7A060VI7-14 9% Efficient Gas Furnace
Copper Line Set
PAD
Whip
Disconnect
PVC
Sheet Metal
Labor
TOTAL: $10,060 with $400 tax credit
$1,000 REBATE WITH AC
$1,100 REBATE HEAT PUMP

The estimates seemed a little high, but perhaps I am naive and already stretched financially. I have no problem paying a fair price for good work and integrity as I respect both immensely. Also, I really don't know if a heat pump is a good investment and would also appreciate advice on the purchase of one for the midwest area. I live in a smaller town outside of Omaha so have no way to get an additional Carrier quote to compare. Own a Trane, but owner of company has changed and service has been very poor since that transition so don't want to purchase from them.

Thanks so much for any, and all help!
Monica

OmahaGirl is offline   Reply With Quote