Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-26-2012, 06:59 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 16
Share |
Default

New A/C unit won't cool in hot temps


They are comming tmrw to look at A/C..I will get out my iPad and show them all of this so maybe they will have a clue where to start..

Newhome1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 07:04 PM   #17
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,626
Default

New A/C unit won't cool in hot temps


go out and grab the LL raw copper line out on the condenser warm to hot? what the ambient days temp is,and is the condenser blowing heat into your face.if the unit cools anytime during the day and makes the setpoint it's the charge that isn't right..need a split on the the air handler not the registers.then are all your supply and return ducts sealed with mastic or duck tape...straight runs or flex duct all looped around...pix if possible

Last edited by biggles; 06-26-2012 at 07:11 PM.
biggles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 07:28 PM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 16
Default

New A/C unit won't cool in hot temps


Ok so I called my husband and he told me to go see if the unit is running outside! It's not!!! He said to turn it off inside!! It's been running all day just the fan I guess??? What could be the problem?? Ac burnt out??
Newhome1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 11:06 PM   #19
Part of the Clover Leaf
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NW Burbs of Detroit Mi.
Posts: 1,107
Default

New A/C unit won't cool in hot temps


Quote:
Originally Posted by Newhome1 View Post
Ok so I called my husband and he told me to go see if the unit is running outside! It's not!!! He said to turn it off inside!! It's been running all day just the fan I guess??? What could be the problem?? Ac burnt out??
blown fuse
hvac5646 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 11:08 PM   #20
Part of the Clover Leaf
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NW Burbs of Detroit Mi.
Posts: 1,107
Default

New A/C unit won't cool in hot temps


To the OP...with out subcooling and superheat readings we can only guess...

but I'm betting you have a partial restriction.
hvac5646 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 11:15 PM   #21
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,616
Default

New A/C unit won't cool in hot temps


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvac5646 View Post
blown fuse

If it were a blown fuse than there'd be no controlling the inside and that is working via the stat in cooling mode or at least that's what I'm led to believe. Stat is on cool, inside is on but not the condenser.

It's going to be a pressure switch, compressor thermal overload, breaker, float switch, something specific to the condenser.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 10:51 AM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 16
Default

New A/C unit won't cool in hot temps


Ok so, heat and air guy is here, pressure switch when off, he claims when he put freon in the unit he got air in it and that's why it had not been properly cooling.. He is draining and putting more freon in now.. ??? He said that will fix the problem..
Newhome1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 06:16 PM   #23
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 16
Default

New A/C unit won't cool in hot temps


a/c guy was here earlier and left, he said all problems was because of the issue I said before.. He fixed it, so I put my a/c on 69 left for 6 hours and it won't get cooler than 75 in here.. Some say that's normal, I've never lived somewhere that you put the thermostat on something and it stays 5-7 degrees hotter! No matter where I lived..
Newhome1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 07:08 PM   #24
Bill Kearney
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 1,874
Default

New A/C unit won't cool in hot temps


Just how hot/humid is it in your area? An AC unit can move the temp only so far based on outside temperature.
wkearney99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 07:17 PM   #25
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 16
Default

New A/C unit won't cool in hot temps


107 Oklahoma.. Very humid..
Newhome1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 08:25 PM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 118
Default

New A/C unit won't cool in hot temps


Is maintaining 75 inside when it's 107 and humid outside an improvement over the performance pre-service? In any case, it doesn't sound so bad to me...
tima2381 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 09:40 PM   #27
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 16
Default

New A/C unit won't cool in hot temps


It's not bad I just lived in cooler/more comfortable places in same town, kind of disappointing since this is my first brand new home and I get hot when I get ready! But you are right it isn't so bad..
Newhome1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 12:12 AM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 118
Default

New A/C unit won't cool in hot temps


Others things to consider are shade tree coverage, insulation differences, etc. If there are any comparable houses around you, ask your neighbors how they're doing, but to get a meaningful answer, you'll probably have to measure temps yourself and wait until you know the system's been running an hour or two.
tima2381 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 08:04 AM   #29
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 16
Default

New A/C unit won't cool in hot temps


The houses right next to us just built as well, no problem with theirs, and it matches what they set it on.. Shade trees are a good idea..
Newhome1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 12:43 PM   #30
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 118
Default

New A/C unit won't cool in hot temps


What do they set it on?

tima2381 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
can I swap a (3) 60watt unit into a spot where I have a (1) 60watt unit? joeyboy Electrical 11 07-29-2007 07:25 PM
Heat Pump/AC not cooling, new home eshipler HVAC 7 07-25-2007 08:52 PM
new 3 ton hvac Payne units. No cool air comes out when fan, compressor,thermostat run runbikeengr HVAC 10 04-10-2007 05:59 PM
central air unit question princessme HVAC 4 07-08-2006 09:13 PM
Need to expand existing concrete pad for A/C unit miketegra Building & Construction 2 07-03-2005 10:27 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.