New Bryant Gas Furnace - Fuse Keeps Blowing - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-08-2012, 05:02 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

New Bryant Gas Furnace - Fuse Keeps Blowing


I have a Bryant Gas Furnace (Model 310AAV) that is less than a year old. There was a problem with the furnace not coming on and it was discovered that the 3 amp fuse on the control board was blown. A new fuse was installed, the furnace fired up, heat came on and ran for about 10 minutes, then the furnace shut off again. The new fuse had blown out. Installed new fuse #2 and, when the blower door was put back on, the fuse blew again. Had one more new fuse #3, installed it, manually pressed the blower door safety switch, there was a visible flash at the switch and fuse #3 was blown.

In a matter of 30 minutes, 3 new fuses were blown so still no heat. Is it possible that the blower door safety switch has gone bad so, when triggered, it blows the fuse? Can I, or should I, try a 5 amp fuse to see if that makes a difference?

If anyone has any thoughts they'd be appreciated.

Advertisement

DIYerIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 05:06 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 804
Rewards Points: 500
Default

New Bryant Gas Furnace - Fuse Keeps Blowing


you have a low voltage short........call the company that installed it and get them out right away.

Advertisement

harleyrider is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to harleyrider For This Useful Post:
DIYerIT (01-08-2012)
Old 01-08-2012, 05:22 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

New Bryant Gas Furnace - Fuse Keeps Blowing


Thank you harleyrider, I appreciate the fast response and advice. I'll give the installer a call.
DIYerIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bryant , furnace , fuse , gas


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Natural Gas Cost For Furnace 1 Hour Run Time hammerlane HVAC 25 01-14-2015 03:13 PM
Bryant 355MAV furnace and A/C blower not starting rajar2 HVAC 31 02-01-2014 01:03 PM
16-year old Bryant Plus-90 furnace phillip9 HVAC 5 03-05-2013 02:11 PM
New AC & Furnace not blowing enough air dficken HVAC 13 07-28-2011 07:21 PM
Bryant +80 Gas Furnace won't light tr0910 HVAC 4 01-14-2009 08:11 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts