Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-22-2010, 03:32 PM   #16
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,735
Share |
Default

New boiler (maybe)


Some burners can't be down fired that low. The retention head must be changed on others to down fire that low.

Good chance it has too much combustion air.

Did he use a combustion analyzer , or at least a Fyrite kit to check to see how its burning?

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2010, 03:36 PM   #17
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Default

New boiler (maybe)


He had a meter that made a buzzing sound, it was the one he used to check for CO. He also said it checks for excess air, he checked it in the hole in the exhaust. That's how he decided what air setting to use.

Is that a combustion analysis?
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2010, 03:44 PM   #18
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,735
Default

New boiler (maybe)


It may have been. Did he leave a print out. or write the results down on your invoice?

He should have also done a smoke test, before he used an analyzer.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2010, 03:46 PM   #19
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Default

New boiler (maybe)


He didn't leave me any results. He did do a smoke test, a few different times.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2010, 03:52 PM   #20
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,735
Default

New boiler (maybe)


Without knowing the results. Can't tell you much.

He could have too much excess air.

Doubt your boiler was built to be fired that low.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2010, 03:53 PM   #21
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Default

New boiler (maybe)


I may end up getting another company to come out and get a second opinion. The red button tripping was happening last year too...so that's not new. Two different companies and still nobody has figured it out.


Thanks for the quick and multiple responses by the way.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2010, 04:05 PM   #22
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,735
Default

New boiler (maybe)


Your welcome.

It could be many different things.

Pump
motor
transformer
bad air adjustment
weak cad cell(detects the flame)
misaligned cad cell(can't see the flame right)
Bad primary(doesn't recognize the signal from the cad cell
loose wire
improper electrode setting
Bad Z setting

And a few more things to boot.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2010, 06:14 PM   #23
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,220
Default

New boiler (maybe)


Buy a gas boiler. Lot less of those problems and it burns cleaner. Stay with Weil McLain though.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2010, 06:55 PM   #24
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Default

New boiler (maybe)


That's the plan....when the $$ situation improves!
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2010, 03:56 PM   #25
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Default

New boiler (maybe)


So I came home from a few days away and my house was like 45F. Apparently the sensor tripped and shut off the boiler again. Not a huge deal, i hit the button and turned it back on for now.

Since I have to heat my house up like 25 degrees, which will take forever, can I turn up the max temp on the boiler to make it go faster? If so, how high is too high? Normally it's been set to 180. Can I go to 200? More? Less?

Thanks!

I know I may not get a response tonight, but it's good to know for next time.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2010, 04:20 PM   #26
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,735
Default

New boiler (maybe)


Best just to let it at 180.

Turning it up to 200 will heat your house faster, if the boiler is large enough to get the water temp that high. But, it can also make air in the system. which will later cause you to have no heat.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
secutanudu (11-27-2010)
Old 11-29-2010, 10:57 AM   #27
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Default

New boiler (maybe)


So this red button has been tripping on me a few times a day. I am at the point where I'm ready to just bite the bullet and get a new (gas) boiler. I have put too much into this one already, plus the prices of cleanings.

The pro I plan to use for this says he'll install whatever manufacturer I want. He mentioned that he never sees many problems with Weil-Mclain or Utica. Any preference between these, or something else that I haven't mentioned? What types of things should I look out for?
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 04:25 PM   #28
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,735
Default

New boiler (maybe)


I prefer Weil Mclain.

Hate to see a good boiler pulled because a tech can't figure out why the burner is tripping.

You know. A new burner is cheaper then a whole new boiler.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 04:36 PM   #29
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Default

New boiler (maybe)


So maybe it's worth a 3rd opinion before I pull this one. If I do get a new one I was thinking of getting a Weil-Mclain 93% efficiency...I think my oil burner is in the low 80s. Not sure it's worth it just for that alone? Obviously I am leaning towards a new one, but maybe that's just my frustration talking...
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 05:03 PM   #30
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,735
Default

New boiler (maybe)


Ain't gonna get 93% efficiency from an oil burner. And have it be reliable.

An Adams condensing oil furnace is 90%plus efficient. When it works.

It also needs to be cleaned twice a year. So it actually cost more to use, then an 80% efficient furnace.

If you do decide to get a new oil boiler. Stay with an 80 to 84% efficient one. They don't require as much maintainence. As super high efficiency one.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Indoor Boiler Question AndrewF HVAC 134 05-13-2011 05:15 PM
I Need a New Boiler. What do i need to know New Boiler Co Plumbing 0 10-23-2010 06:03 PM
Burnham boiler banging/thumping noises quadradeuce HVAC 6 10-02-2010 09:55 PM
Oversized boiler solution (radiant heat)? gbwillner HVAC 5 02-14-2010 06:28 PM
Boiler w. Hydronic Air & Honeywell Aquastat DanA28 HVAC 1 01-08-2009 04:21 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.