DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

New to the board & need furnace advice...

4K views 18 replies 2 participants last post by  biggles 
#1 ·
Earlier today the heat kicked off, I noticed the temp in the house dropping, and it never came back on.

I've been searching online for anything that might be able to help which is how I found this board.

I bought a space heater to try to help get me by, but it's not even dark yet and I am already freezing.

I am not experienced at all in this field, I kind of have to DIY as I am not doing well at all financially at the moment. I'm positive that I could not afford to hire a professional.

With the research that I've done so far, this is what I know...

The furnace is really old. It's a Montgomery Ward SRM-54347B. A search for that model number on Google gives zero results. :(

The house is really old. I have a fuse box (not a circuit breaker) and I checked all the fuses and they appear to be fine.

Gas is flowing to the furnace and the pilot is lit.

It has a newer digital thermostat. I replaced the batteries, which did nothing.

The furnace has a switch that is turned to the on position. The switch has no fuse that I can see.

I looked for a reset switch for the blower, but I am not sure where it is, there may be a common place for this, but there is nothing obvious. I reached in, and spun the fan blades and they seem to rotate fine.

I don't really know what else to check.

Any advice is greatly appreciated. I will check back if I can think of any more questions or have an update. At this moment, it is getting hard to type....

See less See more
#2 ·