Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-07-2010, 12:39 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Question

New blower motor blues


Hello DIYers, Happy New Year!

I just replaced the blower motor in a Magic Chef G66-100D-1 forced air furnace and I think I rewired incorrectly.

The furnace would light but then shut down because of high temp, I had checked for power going to the old blower and confirmed it was being energized but it would not come on.

So I changed the blower motor, and rewired as follows.

The black line from outlet is wired to the black motor lead,
The white motor lead is connected to the blue lead from fan limit switch,
The black lead from fan limit switch is connected to door limit switch,
The door limit switch is connected to the white neutral,
The red lead from fan limit switch is connected to the black lead on transformer,
The white lead from transformer is connected to neutral.

Is this right? Probably not.

Can anyone tell me the correct wiring sequence or does anyone know where to get a diagram?

Thanks!

EduardoG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 12:21 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 440
Rewards Points: 250
Default

New blower motor blues


The white wire on the motor is also a neutral. no clue about the rest.

SKIP4661 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 12:34 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

New blower motor blues


Thanks
EduardoG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 07:31 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

New blower motor blues


I am happy to report that the blower blues are gone, turns out it was a faulty fan limit switch.

I traced the voltage through and determined that the fan switch was not functioning, changed it out and she fired right up.

EduardoG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 07:40 PM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,541
Rewards Points: 2,762
Default

New blower motor blues


So the old motor was good.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 06:30 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 719
Rewards Points: 500
Default

New blower motor blues


Thought you said you checked power at the motor??
SULTINI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 09:51 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

New blower motor blues


Replaced the motor, which was confirmed bad, rewired incorrectly, heater would not come on, spent 3-4 hours on line scouring for diagrams, calling manufacturers and HVAC houses but to no avail no one had a wiring diagram, retraced my wiring with voltage detector and determined power to fan limit switch but none out could switch also be bad, so I changed it out for a new one, which by the way had a wiring diagram in the box, installed and wahla Total cost 4 hours on line, 2 hours back and forth to parts house, 2 hours labor, $150 for new motor and fan limit switch. Cost of satisfaction of DIYing it, priceless
EduardoG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 11:56 AM   #8
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,541
Rewards Points: 2,762
Default

New blower motor blues


From your wiring description.
Its wired wrong.
It may be working, but its wired wrong.

Your wiring description makes it sound like you wired the whole furnace from scratch.

Or someone else blotched it up sometime earlier.

The neutral is not to be wired through a switch.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 12:52 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

New blower motor blues


Helle been there;

You are correct, I had crossed a couple of wires which caused it not to work, but with diagram that came with the new limit switch I was able to correct it. The safety switch is wired through the line and not the nuetral.

have a good one!
EduardoG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 01:16 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

New blower motor blues


Hi Edwardo,

Do you have the wiring diagram mentioned in the conversation above?
I have the same furnace, and am trying to hook up a new thermostat.
Would you consider mailing a copy to me for a fee? This would be a great
help. Please let me know.
Thanks
Peter

pmoores is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Comfortmaker blower intermittent problem jh44ny HVAC 12 07-31-2011 06:41 PM
Heat comes on but blower never does aczer HVAC 12 02-13-2011 06:57 AM
Trane Furnace Blower Running Nearly Continuously stephensandlin HVAC 3 01-03-2010 01:21 AM
Carrier 58MXA Wiring Blower Switch 63012753 HVAC 0 10-06-2009 09:09 PM
AC blower short cycling-works on heat though Steve60007 HVAC 14 06-22-2009 04:00 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.