Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-15-2013, 02:35 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

New Appion G5 twin


Im a bit new at this but I have a new Appion G5 twin and Im wondering just how much vacuum it should pull. It seems to work great untill it reaches 0 pounds on the gauge and then just seems to stop. I assumed it would pull a vacuum down to 20-29 hg. Is it working properly or does it have a problem? Thanks

ronkingroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 05:47 AM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,084
Rewards Points: 62
Default

New Appion G5 twin


Stops running? Or runs but stops pulling gas out of the system.

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 11:59 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Default

New Appion G5 twin


It just stops pulling gas out of the system. I've ordered a new vacuum pump. My understanding now is that the Appion does not actually pull a vacuum and I dont think i'm actually getting a good vacuum to start with. We'll see how the new pump changes things.
ronkingroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 12:17 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,084
Rewards Points: 62
Default

New Appion G5 twin


It doesn't pull a vacuum good enough for evacuation and dehydration of a system. But it does pull a vacuum. EPA has min vacuum requirements for recovery machines.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 05:18 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 144
Rewards Points: 0
Default

New Appion G5 twin


Quote:
Originally Posted by ronkingroll View Post
It just stops pulling gas out of the system. I've ordered a new vacuum pump. My understanding now is that the Appion does not actually pull a vacuum and I dont think i'm actually getting a good vacuum to start with. We'll see how the new pump changes things.
What you have is not a vacuum pump it's a reclaimer. The pump you have is used to remove freon from the system and into a reclaim drum. For pulling a vacuum before recharging a system that has been opened you need a vacuum pump which should look more like this

JScotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mary Alice Park Twin Falls, Id. art hoag Introductions 2 09-14-2012 06:02 AM
twin windows remodel pro75 Introductions 3 04-19-2011 09:28 PM
Twin Breakers 15A single pole Bolt-on type for Sylvania Panel Antoine S Electrical 14 04-17-2011 08:10 PM
Installing twin double hung in 2nd story luvdairish Remodeling 7 07-22-2010 10:06 AM
Trying to find twin breakers to fit panel taybrynn Electrical 11 10-28-2008 10:24 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.