New To Air Exchangers And Low Humidity - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-03-2011, 06:00 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 75

New to Air Exchangers and low humidity

Hi all,

I am European living in Canada since a few months, which means I am new to air exchanger systems and related problems.

I bought a property which is 10 years old, there is a HRV Lifebreath RNC-20 model which did not work properly.
I got it fixed from an authorized dealer, changed the circuit board and next week he will come to do the ducts cleaning.
This has been quite along process, it took weeks to get it repaired due to the difficulty in finding its genuine circuit board, but they succeeded.

How did I realize that the air exchanger was not working properly?
Well, in the basement as well as in the main floor, the humidity level rarely goes over than 30%, I would say the average is between 25% and 30%.
Obviously, me and the rest of my family were not comfortable with this and in addition, wood is moving and cracking. So, I called the technician who basically discovered the whole system was messed up, even the circuit board was different from the one expected

Now, after one week, the air exchanger works but the humidity is still the same, although the dehumidstat is set to OFF as you can see in the enclosed picture.

I thought that the way the air-exchanger works, in addition to :exchange the air" would be to maintain the level of humidity that you have outside, so if you have 50% outside, I was expecting the same inside. Eventually, I was wrong.

Nobody I spoke to so far was really clear or knowledgeable on this, that is why I am asking your advice so that I can come out of this situation.
If I need to buy a humidifier I will do it.