Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-08-2012, 09:34 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 206
Share |
Default

New 410a condenser with old coil....


Just buy a Dry R22 condenser. Goodman sells them and add the required amount of R22

hvac instructor is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hvac instructor For This Useful Post:
COLDIRON (03-10-2013)
Old 06-08-2012, 10:55 AM   #17
If it's free...It's me
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: North Carolina AKA: The Sun
Posts: 66
Default

New 410a condenser with old coil....


HVAC Instructor,

Why would you go backwards? R-22 costs continue to rise and availability continues to decline, part of the system is already capable of handling 410a, and the cost of the condenser is about the same. The extra $$ spent on the condenser will be saved on the refrigerant.
Johnny'sHotDogs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 11:06 AM   #18
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,620
Default

New 410a condenser with old coil....


You are on the right track. Go R410-A but be aware that you may need to change the evaporator coil as well. Your old one may or may not be compatible. If it is then all you'll need is an R410-A thermistatic expansion valve, the refrigerant metering device. And a good line set and evaporator coil flush before adding any R410-A.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 11:08 AM   #19
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,620
Default

New 410a condenser with old coil....


Quote:
Originally Posted by Technow View Post
Have you used those flush kits? (they have almost NO VOLUME) Do you think that flush gets everywhere thru the indoor coil? I don't and that's why I never recommend leaving an r22 coil. Flushing linesets is another story-I can blow anything out of a tube.

Rx-11 states to follow through with nitrogen, never just the can of flush.

I don't ever use flush anyway, only nitrogen.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 12:32 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 206
Default

New 410a condenser with old coil....


hi doc. it sounded like he was trying to save money. also what my sources tell me 410a will not be around much longer. i have seen new units with R407C being installed. the pressures are close to R22. and 407c is about the same price as 410A. The reason why they want to get away from 410A is the pressures and the cost of the equipment to handle it.
hvac instructor is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hvac instructor For This Useful Post:
COLDIRON (03-10-2013)
Old 06-08-2012, 01:03 PM   #21
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,620
Default

New 410a condenser with old coil....


Something is terribley wrong. R410-A condensers, I've been installing many, many 3 ton 410-A condensers over the course of the past few weeks, are approximately $60 less than dry charged condensers and they come charged. I picked up a jug of 410-A for $59, buy a condenser and get a jug for that price. $98.00 if alone.

R-22 iss $364 alone. Lennox.

I'm not certain how long R410-A will be around as I have also heard it will not be the main replacement for 22 for much longer. But if that truly were the case then wouldn't 410-A be more expensive, wouldn't it be going up in price? When it was announced that R-22 was being phased it tripled in cost and is expected to continually rise.

The cost of R410-A is still dropping which leaves me to assume that the rumor mill is simply and only that.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 01:14 PM   #22
Newbie
 
simeltzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 25
Default

New 410a condenser with old coil....


Thx again for the input. As some of you gathered my intention was to switch to r410a due to the rising cost and decreasing supply of 22. The cost of filling the dry unit alone is astronomical. I went ahead and went with the compatible evaporator that was previously installed and had the line set and coil flushed. Unfortunately this issue turned out to be small in comparison to the headache that I have been dealing with (ie. numerous techs, two weeks with no ac,....) we'll see if the new unit solves some of my problems.
simeltzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 01:23 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 206
Default

New 410a condenser with old coil....


wow 59 bucks for 410A. im paying 120 and i get AAA pricing.
407C is 165.00 and 318.00 for 22. could be over supplied on 410a.
what part of the country you fom Doc. maybe ill come over and buy a bunch. with the industry changing alot. no telling what is going to happen.
i still have a jug of R12. LOL
hvac instructor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 01:31 PM   #24
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,620
Default

New 410a condenser with old coil....


I am in The HVAC capitol of the world. Wanna guess as to which city that may be?
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 01:40 PM   #25
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,620
Default

New 410a condenser with old coil....


Here's a hint..

__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 01:52 PM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 206
Default

New 410a condenser with old coil....


doc, you live with george strait lol. yep that is hot down there. when son graduate boot camp from AF we went down there. i wanted to stay indoors all the time. you dont have much for heating then. after winter in march were in shorts and t-shirts when its 45 degrees. also you dont have to worry about freeze stats down there. thats why 410a is cheep down there. you use alot. supply and demand. LOL
hvac instructor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 05:58 PM   #27
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,778
Default

New 410a condenser with old coil....


R407c has a large glide, and of course, still uses POE oil. not really much of an advantage using it over R410A.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 07:57 PM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 206
Default

New 410a condenser with old coil....


we use it at work for a direct replacement. also the Leiberts unit uses it
hvac instructor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 08:46 PM   #29
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: winnipeg manitoba canada
Posts: 779
Default

New 410a condenser with old coil....


Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Holliday View Post
I am in The HVAC capitol of the world. Wanna guess as to which city that may be?

no...
carmon is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to carmon For This Useful Post:
Johnny'sHotDogs (06-08-2012)
Old 06-09-2012, 02:57 AM   #30
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,778
Default

New 410a condenser with old coil....


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvac instructor View Post
we use it at work for a direct replacement. also the Leiberts unit uses it
Its also used in some RTUs. Still has a large glide, and is not a great substitute for R22.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
So I clean my condenser coil and then...no A/C Nowwhat HVAC 4 06-09-2012 08:54 AM
Must I replace the coil when I replace the outside condenser unit? plichtenstein HVAC 5 08-24-2010 02:41 PM
Loud vibration of indoor coil in heat mode john-hvac-new HVAC 3 11-03-2009 09:27 AM
Can I use an a/c evaporator A coil with a Heat Pump condenser? fiver HVAC 26 03-22-2009 06:24 PM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 01:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.