Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-18-2013, 09:52 AM   #1
Member
 
bryanp22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 405
Share |
Default

Nest version 2 rheem furnance


Read post below.


Last edited by bryanp22; 04-18-2013 at 01:45 PM.
bryanp22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 09:58 AM   #2
Member
 
bryanp22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 405
Default

Nest version 2 rheem furnance


[QUOTE="bryanp22"]I have a rheem classic 90 plus furnance with cheap Honeywell programmable thermostat. I had green, yellow, red and white at the thermostat. After installing the nest the furnance fan ran continuously. It indicated I had no fan control. I even added wired the extra blue wire as a common at the furnance and the nest without luck. The fan still ran all the time. I've attached screenshots of my furnance model number and the wiring on the furnance. Is this just an incompatibility with my furnance and the nest? The behavior of my current thermostat is when I turn the heat heat on it has a slight delay then the blower engages, but it does shutoff once it reaches the temp. My fan on both thermostats is set to automatic. If the nest won't work for me does an Internet enabled thermostat work that will? My only other option to try tonight is try the nest again without the green wire and see I'd the furnance turns the fan on by itself. I'm thinking I must have a variable speed fan and nest just doesn't know how to use it and my current thermostat just doesn't use the variable speed either but I am unsure how to confirm that.
Attached Thumbnails
Nest version 2 rheem furnance-image-870388460.jpg   Nest version 2 rheem furnance-image-3493283747.jpg   Nest version 2 rheem furnance-image-3416053000.jpg  

bryanp22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2013, 05:54 PM   #3
Member
 
bryanp22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 405
Default

Nest version 2 rheem furnance


Returned the nest for a honeywell with wifi and its fine.
bryanp22 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to bryanp22 For This Useful Post:
hvactech126 (04-20-2013)
Old 04-20-2013, 08:19 AM   #4
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,317
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Nest version 2 rheem furnance


Nest has a LOT of issues... glad to see you made the right choice by dumping the nest and using a time tested and true manufacturer.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My Furnance has stopped working DIY_user HVAC 7 12-20-2012 07:50 PM
Undecided between Lennox 13SEER / 11EER 13GCSX or Rheem 14SEER / 12EER RRPL Sommalina HVAC 2 10-05-2012 06:51 PM
Rheem Water Heater Questions 1972gs455 HVAC 0 01-15-2010 09:44 PM
WASPs under our deck.... diyntn Pest Control 40 01-01-2010 09:12 AM
Furnance question. diy4life Building & Construction 29 12-01-2009 05:39 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.