Nest Thermostat Install - HVAC - Page 3 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-17-2014, 08:24 AM   #31
Member
 
cj133's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: N.J.
Posts: 330
Rewards Points: 274
Default

Nest Thermostat Install


I tried out a second gen Nest and took it back the next day after it locked up for no apparent reason. To the OP I recommend using a Honeywell tstat set to either 1 or 2 CPH. Forget the Nest.

In regards to not doing a setback with steam, I will agree to an extent, however I do a setback with my single pipe steam. I've done a 9 degree recovery and only cycled on pressure @ 1.5 PSI one time, 5 degree setbacks are not a problem at all.

I recently did a modification that ensures my pressure stays below 2 ounces so even a 10 degree recovery will no longer be an issue. This modification also eliminates all overshoot so I end up exactly at my setpoint.

As far as speed, my system will give a forced hot air system a run for it's money.

Advertisement

__________________
Steam heat pictures.
https://picasaweb.google.com/thetube0a3/Boiler?authkey=Gv1sRgCImUxIqv9436MQ#
1933 GE Monitor Top refrigerator restoration video
http://youtu.be/y2LWjT3e7uQ
cj133 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 09:31 PM   #32
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 1,174
Rewards Points: 1,464
Default

Nest Thermostat Install


I never set mine back anyway. I set it at 68 and leave it. I am a bit of a technology junky though. I wish I wasn't.... it costs me a lot of money
Bob Sanders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2014, 07:57 AM   #33
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: LI, NY
Posts: 125
Rewards Points: 77
Default

Nest Thermostat Install


Quote:
Originally Posted by cj133
I tried out a second gen Nest and took it back the next day after it locked up for no apparent reason. To the OP I recommend using a Honeywell tstat set to either 1 or 2 CPH. Forget the Nest. In regards to not doing a setback with steam, I will agree to an extent, however I do a setback with my single pipe steam. I've done a 9 degree recovery and only cycled on pressure @ 1.5 PSI one time, 5 degree setbacks are not a problem at all. I recently did a modification that ensures my pressure stays below 2 ounces so even a 10 degree recovery will no longer be an issue. This modification also eliminates all overshoot so I end up exactly at my setpoint. As far as speed, my system will give a forced hot air system a run for it's money.
CJ it sounds like you have an exceptionally well maintained steam system, which I tend to think is the exception rather than the rule. The conventional wisdom that steam doesn't do well with setbacks seems to be true far more often than not. If someone is putting a Nest or any other smart thermostat on their steam system the should do that last, after making sure the vents all work properly, the mains are insulated, the system heats evenly, the header is set up correctly and the system is well balanced. And if it gets to that point I would expect anyone would save more money by using a vaporstat to run the system on ounces of pressure rather than pounds of pressure (pressuretrol). I'd bet my breakfast the vaporstat saves more money than installing a Nest and using setbacks.
eclark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2014, 09:20 AM   #34
Member
 
cj133's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: N.J.
Posts: 330
Rewards Points: 274
Default

Nest Thermostat Install


Quote:
Originally Posted by eclark View Post
CJ it sounds like you have an exceptionally well maintained steam system, which I tend to think is the exception rather than the rule. The conventional wisdom that steam doesn't do well with setbacks seems to be true far more often than not. If someone is putting a Nest or any other smart thermostat on their steam system the should do that last, after making sure the vents all work properly, the mains are insulated, the system heats evenly, the header is set up correctly and the system is well balanced. And if it gets to that point I would expect anyone would save more money by using a vaporstat to run the system on ounces of pressure rather than pounds of pressure (pressuretrol). I'd bet my breakfast the vaporstat saves more money than installing a Nest and using setbacks.
I completely agree. This is why I said "In regards to not doing a setback with steam, I will agree to an extent"

During the normal heating season I can get steam to every radiator in around 2-3 minutes after the burner starts. Pictures of my system can be found at the link in my signature at the bottom of this reply.
__________________
Steam heat pictures.
https://picasaweb.google.com/thetube0a3/Boiler?authkey=Gv1sRgCImUxIqv9436MQ#
1933 GE Monitor Top refrigerator restoration video
http://youtu.be/y2LWjT3e7uQ
cj133 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2014, 01:59 AM   #35
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Nest Thermostat Install


normally the Red to R and Rh jumper with R

Advertisement

airtrackinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trane to Nest thermostat. tool man Taylor HVAC 8 01-30-2014 04:42 PM
How to Install NEST thermostat with Trane Axiom Water-Source Heat Pump momo9864 HVAC 1 05-22-2013 10:19 AM
Installing Nest thermostat. Do not have C wire. Want to run new wire. SuddenlyPonies HVAC 10 05-08-2013 10:15 PM
Need advice to install Wireless Honeywell Thermostat hvacnewby HVAC 5 06-15-2011 06:44 PM
Need help with a thermostat install dar748 HVAC 3 11-06-2010 03:31 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts