Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-08-2012, 02:00 PM   #16
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,381
Share |
Default

Nest compatibility - Extra wire makes my furnace non-compatible?


Go to the furnace and look to see where the wire designated as "4" is connected. Its probably a common.

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 03:48 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Nest compatibility - Extra wire makes my furnace non-compatible?


I didn't post the model because I have no idea what it is. There's a name there, but not an identifiable model.

Here are the pictures.
squal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 03:53 PM   #18
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,632
Default

Nest compatibility - Extra wire makes my furnace non-compatible?


Quote:
Originally Posted by squal View Post
I didn't post the model because I have no idea what it is. There's a name there, but not an identifiable model.

Here are the pictures.
Terminal (4) is Rh, you are good to go with the NEST, enjoy, you're going to love it.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 03:56 PM   #19
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Default

Nest compatibility - Extra wire makes my furnace non-compatible?


Connect like this:

Old - New
G - G
Y - Y
W - W
RC - R

You don't need this jumper RC - 4 for your new thermostat
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to JJboy For This Useful Post:
squal (07-08-2012)
Old 07-08-2012, 03:57 PM   #20
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,632
Default

Nest compatibility - Extra wire makes my furnace non-compatible?


Make sure you mark those wires ONE at a time as you remove them. And as stated, you don't jump out Rc & Rh with the NEST, just terminate the current Rc wire on your old thermostat to Rh on the NEST terminal board, the NEST will automatically jump out Rc & Rh internally.

Last edited by stickboy1375; 07-08-2012 at 04:01 PM.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
squal (07-08-2012)
Old 07-08-2012, 04:25 PM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Nest compatibility - Extra wire makes my furnace non-compatible?


Thanks Stickboy. And thanks everyone else for the help.
squal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 12:59 PM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Nest compatibility - Extra wire makes my furnace non-compatible?


Hey there... hope you dont mind the question but it is related.

We have a Lennox hi eff furnace with a carrier control panel (at the furnace) & a thermostat on the wall in our living space. How can I connect a Nest to this when all my wires are in the basement in the control panel? I have pic to email you if needed.

al
Attached Thumbnails
Nest compatibility - Extra wire makes my furnace non-compatible?-1.jpg   Nest compatibility - Extra wire makes my furnace non-compatible?-2.jpg  
amcintyre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 01:09 PM   #23
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,381
Default

Nest compatibility - Extra wire makes my furnace non-compatible?


Have to pull a new thermostat wire up to the thermostat.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 01:15 PM   #24
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Nest compatibility - Extra wire makes my furnace non-compatible?


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Have to pull a new thermostat wire up to the thermostat.
Hey thanks, I thought so but didn't trust myself.
What are the black & white wires on the lower left on the controller that run up to the thermostat.

Thanks...

Al
amcintyre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 01:19 PM   #25
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,381
Default

Nest compatibility - Extra wire makes my furnace non-compatible?


The power wires from the module to the stat.

The Edge is a communicating thermostat.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 01:22 PM   #26
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Nest compatibility - Extra wire makes my furnace non-compatible?


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
The power wires from the module to the stat.

The Edge is a communicating thermostat.
S I only need the bundle of coloured wires from the furnace to the nest. Thus the 2 wires in the carrier control panel will be out of the picture?
amcintyre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 01:26 PM   #27
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,381
Default

Nest compatibility - Extra wire makes my furnace non-compatible?


Quote:
Originally Posted by amcintyre View Post
S I only need the bundle of coloured wires from the furnace to the nest. Thus the 2 wires in the carrier control panel will be out of the picture?
Yep..
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
amcintyre (12-18-2012)
Old 12-19-2012, 10:51 AM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 210
Default

Nest compatibility - Extra wire makes my furnace non-compatible?


(post deleted)

Last edited by av-geek; 12-19-2012 at 11:00 AM.
av-geek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 11:33 AM   #29
Roofmaster
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3,423
Default

Nest compatibility - Extra wire makes my furnace non-compatible?


It is what it is? Well what the hell is it?

If Doc dosen't know, it cant be all that common. How about one of you chosen, enlightening the rest of us peons?
__________________
" A lot of men build things, and a lot of things fall down "

jagans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 06:18 PM   #30
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,317
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Nest compatibility - Extra wire makes my furnace non-compatible?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jagans View Post
It is what it is? Well what the hell is it?

If Doc dosen't know, it cant be all that common. How about one of you chosen, enlightening the rest of us peons?
what?!

__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water Inside/Around American Standard Furnace michrob HVAC 8 12-08-2011 03:51 PM
Brand new Coleman 97.5% furnace makes horrible whining noise junebuggy HVAC 7 05-07-2010 10:24 AM
How to wire up furnace fan to kick in when humidity drops? Tryvidy Electrical 3 04-20-2009 03:53 PM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 01:55 PM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 01:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.