Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-31-2012, 03:08 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
Share |
Default

Nest 2nd Generation


I am having a power issue with a new 2nd Generation Nest T-stat that I recently installed. I am almost certain that it pertains to the abscence of a C common wire.

I hooked up the 4 wires from my previous Honeywell T-Stat (Yellow, Green, Red and White) to the Nest with no issues. There is a 5th unused blue wire (that I assume could be a common wire.

On the circuit board of my forced air furnace (Armstrong) there are the same corresponding wires (Y, G, R, W and there is a C.

Connected to the C terminal is a white wire that goes to the Nuetral of the Aprilaire Humidistat and the Red wire is connected to the Yellow on the circuit board.

My question: Is the C terminal a common? Can I attach the blue wire to the C at the furnace and to the Common on the nest? will this alleviate the power loss on the Nest?

Thanks

Brian1080P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 04:42 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,055
Default

Nest 2nd Generation


Yes, its a common. You can connect the common of the stat to it.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 09:33 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Nest 2nd Generation


Thanks for reply!

I connected the blue wire (common) to the (C) terminal on furnace that also shares the condenser and I connected it to the common slot on the nest.

I charged the Nest faceplate externally for about an hour. I re attached faceplate and it worked fine for about 45 minutes. The Nest apparently will not charge via the 24v common wire unless it takes 24 hours. This is becoming very aggravating for a $250.00 T-Stat.

I have rebooted several times etc and still it disconnects from the network due to low battery.

Maybe I have a lemon, but very frustrated.
Brian1080P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 09:35 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,055
Default

Nest 2nd Generation


Might call Nest for technical support.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 09:43 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Nest 2nd Generation


Yeah I can put them on speaker for the 45 min wait ;o)
Brian1080P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 10:27 PM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,055
Default

Nest 2nd Generation


LOL. Sorry, I'm not well versed on the Nest.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 10:44 PM   #7
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

Nest 2nd Generation


Take it back and get a refund or a credit towards a traditional thermostat. I know the Nest has a lot of appeal because of it's learning capabilities but it's not a proven entity. You can get a much better thermostat (almost 2) for what you paid for the Nest. If you fiddle with your thermostat enough to want a Nest you are wasting money anyway. A thermostat with defined settings is much more capable of energy savings than a continuously programmable one. Enough of my rant. You will have to open up your furnace to see which is the common, but I suspect you already have it wired correctly.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 11:08 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Nest 2nd Generation


^^ You are correct, this is too much trouble for a thermostat. I will call their tech support when I get home tomorrow, but I'm sure it's wired correctly.

Any recommendations for a Tstat that can be controlled via smartphone etc?
Honeywell?
Brian1080P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 05:10 AM   #9
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,055
Default

Nest 2nd Generation


Ecobee
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 02:38 PM   #10
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

Nest 2nd Generation


RTH8580WF | Programmable Wi-Fi Thermostat
This one will work.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 03:21 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Hillsboro, Oregon
Posts: 227
Default

Nest 2nd Generation


Quote:
Originally Posted by Missouri Bound View Post
I have the "PRO" version of that model and it has been awesome!
sgip2000 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 03:32 PM   #12
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,126
Default

Nest 2nd Generation


I use the 3m-50 filtrete with the cloudbeam.com/our home spaces radio http://store.ourhomespaces.com/ The only app available is for the iPhone, no android or windows phone 8 app available.

As for the problem with the C wire, did you ever check for continuity, to make sure that the wire was not broke somewhere along the line? You can also use a external power source for these thermostats, that would plug in and then connect to the NEST.

Nest may send you out a new thermostat if the one you had did not work after making sure all wiring was properly connected at the furnace, and same at the thermostat. There are also some setup that you have to do on the thermostat, once you get it powered up, for type of furnace, ac/heat-pump, etc..
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 03:37 PM   #13
HVAC Tech/ Browns Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dayton, ohio
Posts: 541
Default

Nest 2nd Generation


Good luck with that crap stat. I been on 7 of them so far that customers had to replace them. The display will go away or stat will read 80 deg's for room temp and never change
Tator1076 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 03:55 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Hillsboro, Oregon
Posts: 227
Default

Nest 2nd Generation


I looked at the "Nest" when I purchased the Honeywell. The Nest just felt too cheap to me considering the price.
sgip2000 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 03:49 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Nest 2nd Generation


Quote:
Originally Posted by Missouri Bound View Post
My wife bought me this exact model for Xmas and sadly I returned it for the nest.

I did spend an unnecessary 90 minutes on the phone with Nest CSR and they think my Tstat needs replacing and they are going to send me another unit.

Brian1080P is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Brian1080P For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (01-02-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nest compatibility - Extra wire makes my furnace non-compatible? squal HVAC 29 12-19-2012 06:18 PM
Question about adding "C" wire for new Nest (with pics) Dr. Gonzo HVAC 8 12-09-2012 09:10 AM
The next generation thermostat gregzoll HVAC 0 10-25-2011 12:01 PM
WASPs under our deck.... diyntn Pest Control 40 01-01-2010 09:12 AM
Birds' nest in attic crawl space Frances Pest Control 1 09-01-2007 04:48 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.