Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-20-2013, 07:55 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

neil gas residentail furnaces


Should the combustion blower continue running once the burner is lit?

It seam to waste a lot of heat out the vent!
Lyle gilleran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2013, 08:01 AM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,321
Default

neil gas residentail furnaces


Is it a Heil furnace? that fan provides air for combustion and to push the smoke out and is necessary to run. no air=no combustion.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to yuri For This Useful Post:
carmon (12-20-2013)
Old 12-20-2013, 06:45 PM   #3
Experienced HVAC Tech
 
HVAC1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 357
Default

neil gas residentail furnaces


Quote:
Originally Posted by Lyle gilleran
Should the combustion blower continue running once the burner is lit? It seam to waste a lot of heat out the vent!
it is that way on ALL modern furnaces. Even high efficiency.
HVAC1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to HVAC1000 For This Useful Post:
carmon (12-20-2013)
Old 12-20-2013, 09:25 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 3,994
Default

neil gas residentail furnaces


no combustion blower ..run...no heat...period. either before ignition or after..
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ben's plumbing For This Useful Post:
carmon (12-20-2013)
Old 12-20-2013, 09:30 PM   #5
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,574
Default

neil gas residentail furnaces


you could heat another house with what goes up the flue pipe...that round thing on the burner compartment doesn't feel air pressure the show shuts off.... check the furnace tag on the BTU rating and see what is used with thet lower number
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
any new technology in oil furnaces? av-geek HVAC 0 11-12-2012 12:54 PM
Dual Furnaces mcatlett HVAC 1 07-30-2012 03:56 PM
I have a Coleman Furnaces DGAA077DTB and I want to install a A/C unit to it. yoshua HVAC 1 06-14-2011 11:19 PM
Twinned Furnaces Questions MrControls HVAC 12 12-13-2008 10:09 AM
2 furnaces 1 thermostat clarnp49 HVAC 3 12-05-2007 08:12 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.