Need Wireless Upstairs Thermostat - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-14-2011, 02:26 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Need wireless upstairs thermostat

I have a 2 story house that gets too hot upstairs in the winter, so I need a thermostat upstairs and downstairs. Is there a product out there that works wirelessly upstairs and works with downstairs wall mounted thermostat?

Most of the wireless systems I have seen require a unit to be mounted to the HVAC directly. That would require a professional install, I want to buy a wall mounted unit I can replace downstairs.

Advertisement

stringzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2011, 03:28 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 1,184

I am not an HVAC pro, so may be wrong, but I don't believe that having two thermostats is going to solve the problem. Is the existing thermostat on an inside wall? If it is on an outside wall, that could be part of the problem. Have you tried throttling some or all of of your upstairs registers?

Advertisement

DexterII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2011, 03:32 PM   #3
fabrk8r

Rewards Points: 500

There are wireless thermostats, but unless you have either a zoned system or two separate HVAC systems, you won't be able to have different temperatures on different levels.
Old 02-14-2011, 03:51 PM   #4

@DexterII - my current thermostat is on in inside wall.

@fabrk8r - I am not so concerned about having different temps on different levels. The problem is it takes so long for the downstairs thermostat to change to desired temp, that upstairs is roasting hot. I guess I could close some vents upstairs, but a couple of vents don't have that abilty. I just want the thermostat to read the temps upstairs to it doesn't get too hot. I don't want to wire anything upstairs, hoping for wireless that I can replace on the wall for my current thermostat.

Thanks