Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-05-2009, 05:01 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Need some help with Rheem Criterion II


Hello, I have limited experience with HVAC, maybe just enough to get me into trouble, but I'm experiencing a problem with my furnace that I cant seem to figure out. Its a 13 YO Rheem Criterion II horizontal furnace located in the attic. The problem is the draft inducer motor/housing assembly does not seem to pull enough air through the attached pressure switch rubber hose to trigger the pressure switch. Ive replaced the pressure switch with another OEM switch and it still does not work. This rubber hose goes from the pressure switch to the draft inducer housing nipple and is not clogged, also the exhaust vent through the roof is not restricted. I can tell you that I'm 100% certain the problem is pressure switch related as I can get the furnace to cycle by bypassing the pressure switch. Do you think the the DI motor/housing assembly is the culprit? maybe cracked?


Last edited by macaluso1; 01-05-2009 at 05:06 PM.
macaluso1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 05:10 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 440
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Need some help with Rheem Criterion II


Is This a condensing furnace? If it is and the attic temp is below freezing, your condensate drain system may be frozen. Just a possibility.

SKIP4661 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 05:43 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Need some help with Rheem Criterion II


No Skip, heat only. Is there another option instead of using an air pressure switch?
macaluso1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 07:16 PM   #4
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,643
Rewards Points: 2,424
Default

Need some help with Rheem Criterion II


If you look CAREFULLY, LOTS of them have a big crack in the front of the black bakelite housing that ventor fan usually is made of. The replacement is cast aluminum. Or the gasket behind it is shot. The only way to test it for draft is with a manometer. It may be getting old and slowing down. They usually last about 10 yrs. MUST have a pressure switch to prove draft/combustion air thru the heat exchanger. NEVER EVER bypass it other than to test it or you will get flame rollout/visit from fire dept.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 09:07 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Need some help with Rheem Criterion II


Yuri, thanks for taking the time to explain this to me. I think a new DI motor & housing assembly are in order. I'm sure it wont be an over the counter item. Do I go through Rheem to get this part? And yes, I do understand that the pressure switch is a MUST. Thanks again.
macaluso1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rheem IIBC Fan Speed Switch Settings budkocher HVAC 2 11-28-2012 05:33 PM
Problem with Rheem Criterion Furnace sweetsue777 HVAC 3 03-10-2012 11:13 AM
Rheem Criterion lights, but only runs for 30 seconds max... all4naught HVAC 2 12-26-2008 07:36 PM
Rheem classic 90 plus venting question jjconst07 HVAC 2 07-04-2008 05:14 PM
Rheem RXCH-A14 drain pan needed johnd393 HVAC 10 05-14-2007 12:58 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.