Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-19-2009, 01:00 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 14
Share |
Default

Need more returns?


I was having low air supply from 6 registers causing hot/cold zones around my house. Found the 4" supply ducts were not only undersized for their respective rooms but were leaking, badly dented , 1 was completely disconencted and 2 of them were split to heat an upstairs and a downstairs room. Another register was simply a grill splapped over a hole cut in the side of the plenum...this register was porbably had the best flow.

I replaced 3 of the 4" supply ducts with 5", ran a 6" split into 2x 4" for the 1 of the up/downstairs rooms and added 1 new 5" for the other. Completley removed 2 of the 4" ducts from 1 room and capped them off at the plenum. That room used to have 3x 4" and 1x 6" supplies, it now has a 6" and a new 5" duct. I plugged off the plenum hole register and ran a proper 5" supply. Stuck dampers in all the lines.

Now the house is evenly heated without any cold spots. Airflow is pretty good/balanced at all registers. Should I add additional return air for the increase in duct size? How can I tell if I'm starving my furnace? Thanks for the help.


Last edited by Tabb; 01-19-2009 at 01:08 AM.
Tabb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 02:42 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: palm coast fl
Posts: 588
Default

Need more returns?


sort of a redneck ballpark way would be to remove the blower door and see if there is any drastic increase in airflow also hold the blower door in front of the opening and slowly lean it towards the opening as if you were going to put it back on if it really sucks it out of your hands strongly when your a couple of inches away you need more return, of course the proper way would be to measure static pressure


Last edited by kennzz05; 01-19-2009 at 02:45 AM.
kennzz05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 10:33 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,570
Default

Need more returns?


Tabb, It all depends on your furnace and existing setup. Take a look at this website. It has a very good discussion of duct design. If you read it carefully you'll probably have a good idea of whether your returns are adequate.
http://www.descoenergy.com/duct_system-02.htm
jogr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Outside air getting in through returns? Klamath HVAC 3 12-13-2008 05:06 PM
Re-routing cold air returns fjmb031507 HVAC 2 10-05-2007 10:07 PM
Reducing size of very large air-vent returns in floor? AllGoNoShow HVAC 3 09-19-2006 09:36 PM
Gable Roof returns crecore Carpentry 2 11-02-2005 10:25 PM
Cold air returns (or lack thereof...) Umby HVAC 7 07-06-2005 10:24 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.