Need Help Troubleshooting Trane Gas Furnace - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-21-2011, 07:31 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Question

need help troubleshooting Trane gas furnace


I have a Trane induced draft gas furnace, model TUE100A948A1. I have natural gas suppply, power, and thermostat connection/signal. Have already done basic troubleshooting - turning local power on/off, gas on/off with no success. The draft inducer motor turns on from thermostat signal, but the gas burners never ignite. Is my next logical step replacing the HSI?

Appreciate any advice.

Thanks,
MB

Advertisement

pocketfarkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2011, 07:37 PM   #2
Member
 
Houston204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 594
Rewards Points: 514
Default

need help troubleshooting Trane gas furnace


Does it display 3 flashes?


Advertisement

Houston204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2011, 11:56 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

need help troubleshooting Trane gas furnace


Not sure what you mean. My furnace does not have an LED indicator. While a semi-skilled DIYer, I have very mediocre electrical skill. Do I need some sort of equipment to get the error code you have suggested?

Thx,
MB
pocketfarkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2011, 12:34 AM   #4
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,550
Rewards Points: 616
Default

need help troubleshooting Trane gas furnace


I'm guessing that after the vent motor comes on that a pressure proving system will need to prove the motor is operating before the gas valve & HSI is powered up. You can skip checking the pressure system and see if the HSI is electrically charged before the lock out occurs. If Hsi that isn't heating up is powered then changing the HSI is the next step. If its not powered then you need to look at the pressure system for loose air lines or or electrical connections. The pressure switch controls can get blocked by the smallest piece of debris that can be carefully dislodged if you know what you're doing. Anything that affects the pressure like a failing vent motor, obstructed exhaust vent or intake will also stop the hsi from working.
That's my guess at your next diagnostic step.
Best of luck
how is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2011, 01:12 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

need help troubleshooting Trane gas furnace


Thank you very much for the suggestion.

MB
pocketfarkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trane XV95 furnace cfm levels? WhatWasThat? HVAC 8 04-28-2009 07:54 AM
Problem with Trane gas furnace quovadis HVAC 17 12-22-2008 02:12 PM
Lennox G61MPV vs. Trane XV95 Furnace CompuPsych HVAC 2 11-21-2008 09:20 PM
Trane XE 90 Furnace Masterdrafter HVAC 1 02-01-2007 06:54 PM
Help TRANE XE-80 furnace squeed HVAC 12 10-08-2006 09:22 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts