Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-06-2010, 09:54 PM   #106
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: The Sunshine State- Florida
Posts: 100
Share |
Default

Need HELP swapping a Vision pro 8320u1008 to an IAQ one


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Premature doom and gloom.
Sir my Hat is off to you ....


Now i need to figure out a filter system fr my allergies and I will be set..

N01B4ME is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 10:03 PM   #107
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,725
Default

Need HELP swapping a Vision pro 8320u1008 to an IAQ one


Any 5" media air filter will do a good job. With a MERV rating of 13 or higher. Just have to have the return duct sized for it. So it doesn't restrict air flow too much.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 10:15 PM   #108
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Need HELP swapping a Vision pro 8320u1008 to an IAQ one


You keep the heat at 77 ??
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 11:01 PM   #109
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: The Sunshine State- Florida
Posts: 100
Default

Need HELP swapping a Vision pro 8320u1008 to an IAQ one


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
You keep the heat at 77 ??

I was only putting it that high just in case the heat pump would not work again tonight....lol

Last edited by N01B4ME; 01-06-2010 at 11:18 PM.
N01B4ME is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 09:10 AM   #110
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: The Sunshine State- Florida
Posts: 100
Default

Need HELP swapping a Vision pro 8320u1008 to an IAQ one


Ok last night. I had to change the setting of 360 to 30 degrees for the heat pump to keep coming on. If I left it at 10 degrees it would come on and shut down 10 minutes later. This mean I have something confgured wrong.

I also temporarily turned off the de humidification thinking it was causing issues.The heat pump worked all night without issues.

Now my new problem is the heat pump efficiency was down because I had the tstat for 74 degrees and the heat pump was fighting to maintain 67 degrees. So I need to know how to make the em heat come on to assist the heat pump to get to the desired temp.


These are the temps in my zipcode for last night..

Time (EST): Temp.:
12:53 AM 24.1 F
2:53 AM 23.0 F
3:53 AM 21.9 F
4:53 AM 21.0 F
5:53 AM 21.0 F
6:53 AM 19.9 F
7:53 AM 21.9 F
8:53 AM 33.1 F
9:53 AM 45.0 F

Last edited by N01B4ME; 01-07-2010 at 10:33 AM.
N01B4ME is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 01:27 PM   #111
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: The Sunshine State- Florida
Posts: 100
Default

Need HELP swapping a Vision pro 8320u1008 to an IAQ one


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
You keep the heat at 77 ??

Wow I just went through your thread and that is allot of work. Amazing how much work you are putting in to the renovation. It will look awesome once completed.
N01B4ME is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 01:29 PM   #112
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,725
Default

Need HELP swapping a Vision pro 8320u1008 to an IAQ one


You want the aux heat to come on, not emergency heat. Emergency heat is just the expensive strip heat, without the heat pump.

If running the heat pump only was able to maintain 67, when it was 24 outside.
Then it can maintain a difference of 43 outdoor to indoor temp.

So then your balance point to maintain 74 would be: 74-43=31F.

Post all your installer set up settings as they are now.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 02:51 PM   #113
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: The Sunshine State- Florida
Posts: 100
Default

Need HELP swapping a Vision pro 8320u1008 to an IAQ one


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
You want the aux heat to come on, not emergency heat. Emergency heat is just the expensive strip heat, without the heat pump.

If running the heat pump only was able to maintain 67, when it was 24 outside.
Then it can maintain a difference of 43 outdoor to indoor temp.

So then your balance point to maintain 74 would be: 74-43=31F.

Post all your installer set up settings as they are now.

110 0
120 20
130 10
140 1
150 7
160 4
165 0
172 2
174 1
176 1
190 0
200 0
220 2
240 E
280 1
300 1
310 5
320 0
330 2
340 0
342 1
350 0
360 30
365 E 0 upper right
370 1
372 E 0 upper right
379 1
383 3
390 0
400 0
500 2
502 0
510 E 0 upper right
520 E 0 upper right
530 1
540 4
580 5
600 90
610 60
640 12
650 0
660 0
670 0
680 2
690 2
700 1
701 0
710 0
N01B4ME is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 03:22 PM   #114
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,725
Default

Need HELP swapping a Vision pro 8320u1008 to an IAQ one


Settings are basically right.

Its probably not charged correctly, and a sfety is shutting it down.. Or a miswire with the outdoor unit.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 03:29 PM   #115
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: The Sunshine State- Florida
Posts: 100
Default

Need HELP swapping a Vision pro 8320u1008 to an IAQ one


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Settings are basically right.

Its probably not charged correctly, and a sfety is shutting it down.. Or a miswire with the outdoor unit.
I rewired the outdoor unit like depicted in the beggining of the thread. I will double check right now to see if anything is wired incorrectly...

Be back in a few.
N01B4ME is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 03:47 PM   #116
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,725
Default

Need HELP swapping a Vision pro 8320u1008 to an IAQ one


Relooking at what you posted for teh outdoor unit. I don't see that the defrost board is wired to bring on the strip heat during defrost.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 04:03 PM   #117
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: The Sunshine State- Florida
Posts: 100
Default

Need HELP swapping a Vision pro 8320u1008 to an IAQ one


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Relooking at what you posted for teh outdoor unit. I don't see that the defrost board is wired to bring on the strip heat during defrost.
I was able to bring on the aux heat by messing with the settings of 350 and 360 the first night...

I will repost the change of the W2 that was asked previously in the thread.








W2 brown goes to W2 inside the Air Handler. I did not have a white piece of wire..



Last edited by N01B4ME; 01-07-2010 at 04:46 PM.
N01B4ME is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 08:23 PM   #118
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: The Sunshine State- Florida
Posts: 100
Default

Need HELP swapping a Vision pro 8320u1008 to an IAQ one


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Settings are basically right.

Its probably not charged correctly, and a sfety is shutting it down.. Or a miswire with the outdoor unit.
I will attempt to check it myself and let you know what pressures I have. If it gets too hectic it might be time to call the professionals.

Last edited by N01B4ME; 01-11-2010 at 12:56 PM.
N01B4ME is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 01:46 AM   #119
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: The Sunshine State- Florida
Posts: 100
Default

Need HELP swapping a Vision pro 8320u1008 to an IAQ one


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Relooking at what you posted for teh outdoor unit. I don't see that the defrost board is wired to bring on the strip heat during defrost.

This is my only problem. When the heat pump auto defrost's it blows cold air in the house. I was thinking my heat pump was not working ocrrectly and shutting off. It was shutting off to autodefrost. I just dont undertand why it is blowing cold air out of the vents when the heat pump does this. After the auto defrost my air vent temps are 94 degrees.

I have the tstat set at 73 deg and the inside temp is maintaing 70 at this time with an outdoor temp sensor reading of 29 degrees.
N01B4ME is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 07:18 AM   #120
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,725
Default

Need HELP swapping a Vision pro 8320u1008 to an IAQ one


You need a wire from the outdoor unit's W(W2), to the indoor units W1 or W2 terminal.

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Honeywell Vision Pro 8000 TH8320U1008 Thermostat Question chetwynd HVAC 3 02-08-2012 10:36 AM
Need help with Honeywell Vision Pro Thermostat...frozen in NJ ronaldpalka HVAC 15 04-24-2009 03:11 PM
Vision pro 8000 problem chucky7 HVAC 2 01-25-2009 07:21 PM
Swapping exterior door perpetual98 Remodeling 3 11-27-2007 05:55 PM
Swapping panel out JohnTelcoMan Electrical 7 09-05-2007 07:12 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.