Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-06-2010, 06:02 AM   #91
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,846
Share |
Default

Need HELP swapping a Vision pro 8320u1008 to an IAQ one


No reason to lockout the heat pump with electric aux heat.

Aux heat can't come on at 20, if you have it lockout until 0.

What was it set for before you changed it.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 10:43 AM   #92
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: The Sunshine State- Florida
Posts: 100
Default

Need HELP swapping a Vision pro 8320u1008 to an IAQ one


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
No reason to lockout the heat pump with electric aux heat.

Aux heat can't come on at 20, if you have it lockout until 0.

What was it set for before you changed it.


Damn I dont know. I was freezing last night at 4:00am with a flaslight trying to figure out what was wrong. This whole week it will be in the 20's so I need to figure it out.


How did I know you would be the first one to reply. You are FAST ... thanks man for all of oyur help before my electric bills have dropped drastically from swappping the tsat.
N01B4ME is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 12:02 PM   #93
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,846
Default

Need HELP swapping a Vision pro 8320u1008 to an IAQ one


Quote:
Originally Posted by N01B4ME View Post


thanks man for all of oyur help before my electric bills have dropped drastically from swappping the tsat.

Good.

And don't lock out the compressor.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 12:36 PM   #94
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: The Sunshine State- Florida
Posts: 100
Default

Need HELP swapping a Vision pro 8320u1008 to an IAQ one


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Good.

And don't lock out the compressor.

I don't understand by what you mean. My heat pump would come on for 20 seconds and then shut down everytime since t was cold... What would I need o set it to then.


Thanks
N01B4ME is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 12:39 PM   #95
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,846
Default

Need HELP swapping a Vision pro 8320u1008 to an IAQ one


If its only running 20 seconds, something is wrong.

Where is the outdoor temp sensor located.

What brand and model number is your outdoor unit.

Most newer heat pumps can efficiently provide heat down to about -10F outdoor temp.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 12:43 PM   #96
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: The Sunshine State- Florida
Posts: 100
Default

Need HELP swapping a Vision pro 8320u1008 to an IAQ one


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
If its only running 20 seconds, something is wrong.

Where is the outdoor temp sensor located.

What brand and model number is your outdoor unit.

Most newer heat pumps can efficiently provide heat down to about -10F outdoor temp.

Both of them are frigidaire By Nordyne. Model #'s for them are:

Heat Pump Model FT5BD-048K

Furnace B5VM-T49K-C


The outdoor temp is located on the wall beside my heat pump. It was reading 32 degrees when I heard the heat pump would come on cycle 20-40 secs and turn off. I thought this was bad for the heat pump so thougt lock it out below 35 degrees...

My installer said that heat pumps dont work below 30 degrees in florida so I assumed he is correct.
N01B4ME is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 12:59 PM   #97
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,846
Default

Need HELP swapping a Vision pro 8320u1008 to an IAQ one


Quote:
Originally Posted by N01B4ME View Post

My installer said that heat pumps dont work below 30 degrees in florida so I assumed he is correct.
Ask him why they work at temps of 0F in other states then(such as here in PA).

Sorry. Your installer doesn't know what he is talking about.
And something is either wrong with the heat pump. Or not set up right.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 01:21 PM   #98
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: The Sunshine State- Florida
Posts: 100
Default

Need HELP swapping a Vision pro 8320u1008 to an IAQ one


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Ask him why they work at temps of 0F in other states then(such as here in PA).

Sorry. Your installer doesn't know what he is talking about.
And something is either wrong with the heat pump. Or not set up right.


I am done even talking to the installer. He is clueless and I have spent thousands with this guy and am here begging for help. I am at the point that I don't know who to trust when you call a person to your house. especially when oyu spend thousands for sometihng that is tied to labor with that person...

Does my heat pump work below 30 degrees by looking a thte model #.

Sorry I am just venting.

Last edited by N01B4ME; 01-06-2010 at 01:25 PM.
N01B4ME is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 01:43 PM   #99
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: The Sunshine State- Florida
Posts: 100
Default

Need HELP swapping a Vision pro 8320u1008 to an IAQ one


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Ask him why they work at temps of 0F in other states then(such as here in PA).

Sorry. Your installer doesn't know what he is talking about.
And something is either wrong with the heat pump. Or not set up right.
Earlier in the thread it was noted that some wires were incorrect so I swapped them out to fix my ac issues and hte system running inefficiently which evidently is fixed now. They system stopped short cycling the rest of the summer and I was happy. I had no way of testing the em heat at that point that I knew of since it was hot here.


These are the settings form the manual of the IAQ

0350 Heat pumpcompressor lockout
40 Default
0 No compressor lockout **
[Other options: 5 to 60F (-15C to 15.5C)]
0360 Heat pumpauxiliary lockout
0 No heat pump auxiliary lockout **
[Other options: 5 to 65F (-15C to 18.5C)]

Last edited by N01B4ME; 01-06-2010 at 02:32 PM.
N01B4ME is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 03:13 PM   #100
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,846
Default

Need HELP swapping a Vision pro 8320u1008 to an IAQ one


Your heat pump is capable of providing heat at temps of 0F.

Your heat pump may be over charged. And was cycling on a high pressure switch.

For aux heat lock out. Best way to set it. Is to set it to 10.
Then, what ever temp you discover the heat pump doesn't provide enough heat. That is your aux lock out temp that you should set it too.

A dirty air filter can also cause it to cycle on high pressure in heat mode.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 03:21 PM   #101
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: The Sunshine State- Florida
Posts: 100
Default

Need HELP swapping a Vision pro 8320u1008 to an IAQ one


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Your heat pump is capable of providing heat at temps of 0F.

Your heat pump may be over charged. And was cycling on a high pressure switch.

For aux heat lock out. Best way to set it. Is to set it to 10.
Then, what ever temp you discover the heat pump doesn't provide enough heat. That is your aux lock out temp that you should set it too.

A dirty air filter can also cause it to cycle on high pressure in heat mode.


I will change my filters out as soon as I get to lowes in a few on my way home and set the settings accordingly. Will update tonight when it gets cold .
N01B4ME is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 09:38 PM   #102
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: The Sunshine State- Florida
Posts: 100
Default

Need HELP swapping a Vision pro 8320u1008 to an IAQ one


UPDATE. The heatpump was working perfectly until the temp got down to 33 degrees just now(From the tstat reading outside sensor). I had the tstat set to auto and the inside temp was 77 degrees and maintaining. Now it dipped down to 75 and the VS blower is still on but the heat pump is cycled off aty this time. So should I set the 360 option to 30 degrees?

The VS blower is still on but the aux heat is not coming on yet. I did set it to 10 degrees.

Wow I am thinking of running to Walmart to get a space heater as I do not wnat to freeze tonight..



Just noticed the heat pump came back on and it is blowing warm air...

Last edited by N01B4ME; 01-06-2010 at 09:41 PM.
N01B4ME is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 09:43 PM   #103
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,846
Default

Need HELP swapping a Vision pro 8320u1008 to an IAQ one


Is the stat locking out the heat pump. Or did the heat pump stop running for an unknown reason.

Your outdoor unit doesn't come set up to stop working when its 30 outside. So either the stat is doing it. Or something is wrong with the unit. Or they installed an outdoor stat that shuts your outdoor unit down.

Yeah. just raise your aux lock out temp. Will have to set it to 35, if your heat pump is not working at 33.

If the stat is not the reason the heat pump stopped working. Something is wrong with the heat pump.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 09:45 PM   #104
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: The Sunshine State- Florida
Posts: 100
Default

Need HELP swapping a Vision pro 8320u1008 to an IAQ one


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Is the stat locking out the heat pump. Or did the heat pump stop running for an unknown reason.

Your outdoor unit doesn't come set up to stop working when its 30 outside. So either the stat is doing it. Or something is wrong with the unit. Or they installed an outdoor stat that shuts your outdoor unit down.

Yeah. just raise your aux lock out temp.

If the stat is not the reason the heat pump stopped working. Something is wrong with the heat pump.


Wow I appreciate all of your help. The heat pump came back on so It must have been a cycle. Now the the air vent temp with my Raytech gun is registering 98 degrees....
N01B4ME is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 09:49 PM   #105
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,846
Default

Need HELP swapping a Vision pro 8320u1008 to an IAQ one


Quote:
Originally Posted by N01B4ME View Post
Wow I appreciate all of your help. The heat pump came back on so It must have been a cycle.
Premature doom and gloom.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Honeywell Vision Pro 8000 TH8320U1008 Thermostat Question chetwynd HVAC 3 02-08-2012 10:36 AM
Need help with Honeywell Vision Pro Thermostat...frozen in NJ ronaldpalka HVAC 15 04-24-2009 03:11 PM
Vision pro 8000 problem chucky7 HVAC 2 01-25-2009 07:21 PM
Swapping exterior door perpetual98 Remodeling 3 11-27-2007 05:55 PM
Swapping panel out JohnTelcoMan Electrical 7 09-05-2007 07:12 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.