Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-14-2010, 01:50 PM   #151
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,047
Rewards Points: 3,758
Default

Need HELP swapping a Vision pro 8320u1008 to an IAQ one


Yes, 360 is the aux heat lock out.

If you want to test if aux heat comes on when the stat calls. Set teh lock out to no lock out. And set the temp on the stat 5 degrees higher then room temp.
Or, go into installer test, and run the test modes.

As for testing in defrost. You can jusp the defrost boards test pins, and force it into defrost. But, it could terminate defrost before you get back inside.

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2010, 06:08 PM   #152
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: The Sunshine State- Florida
Posts: 100
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Need HELP swapping a Vision pro 8320u1008 to an IAQ one


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Yes, 360 is the aux heat lock out.

If you want to test if aux heat comes on when the stat calls. Set teh lock out to no lock out. And set the temp on the stat 5 degrees higher then room temp.
Or, go into installer test, and run the test modes.

As for testing in defrost. You can jusp the defrost boards test pins, and force it into defrost. But, it could terminate defrost before you get back inside.

Wow it works finally. Now I can feel the heat....
N01B4ME is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2010, 06:30 PM   #153
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,047
Rewards Points: 3,758
Default

Need HELP swapping a Vision pro 8320u1008 to an IAQ one


Congrats.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2010, 07:03 PM   #154
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: The Sunshine State- Florida
Posts: 100
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Need HELP swapping a Vision pro 8320u1008 to an IAQ one


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Congrats.

Thanks Again.....
N01B4ME is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 09:48 AM   #155
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: The Sunshine State- Florida
Posts: 100
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Need HELP swapping a Vision pro 8320u1008 to an IAQ one


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Congrats.

Today was the first day I actually used the aux heat with the heat pump. Wowzer it puts out heat now..lol

I accidentally left the system off last night and woke up at 2 am with the house like 55 degrees... brrr it was cold. I set the system to auto and the heat pump and aux heat went to town. It warmed up the house in an hour..

Last edited by N01B4ME; 01-19-2010 at 10:13 AM.
N01B4ME is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 10:13 AM   #156
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,047
Rewards Points: 3,758
Default

Need HELP swapping a Vision pro 8320u1008 to an IAQ one


Quote:
Originally Posted by N01B4ME View Post
Today was the first day I actually used the aux heat with the heat pump. Wowzer it puts out heat now..lol

I accidentally left the system off last night and woke up at 2 am with the house like 55 degrees... brrr it was cold. I set the system to auto and the heat pump and aux heat went to town. It warmed up the house in 1/2 hour..
Don't forget.
Everytime the aux heat comes on. Your electric meter spins faster. Meaning higher electric bill.

So in that hour with the aux on. You used 5KWs of electric for the aux alone.

So you don't want to use large temp swings when you change your thermostat temp setting.

But, it is nice when a system warms the house up fast.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 10:16 AM   #157
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: The Sunshine State- Florida
Posts: 100
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Need HELP swapping a Vision pro 8320u1008 to an IAQ one


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Don't forget.
Everytime the aux heat comes on. Your electric meter spins faster. Meaning higher electric bill.

So in that hour with the aux on. You used 5KWs of electric for the aux alone.

So you don't want to use large temp swings when you change your thermostat temp setting.

But, it is nice when a system warms the house up fast.

Yeah I was checking to see if the aux heat would work and it felt like my oven. I did notice the aux heat comes on if the temp diff is mor than 3 degrees. Is that normal?
N01B4ME is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 10:40 AM   #158
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,047
Rewards Points: 3,758
Default

Need HELP swapping a Vision pro 8320u1008 to an IAQ one


If you don't have lock outs set.
The aux heat will come on if the IAQ determines that the HP is operating at 90% of its ability to heat the house.
Which means it can come on even when the stat reads that the house is at set temp.

If you manually raise the set temp 2 or more degrees. The aux will come on.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 10:41 AM   #159
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: The Sunshine State- Florida
Posts: 100
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Need HELP swapping a Vision pro 8320u1008 to an IAQ one


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
If you don't have lock outs set.
The aux heat will come on if the IAQ determines that the HP is operating at 90% of its ability to heat the house.
Which means it can come on even when the stat reads that the house is at set temp.

If you manually raise the set temp 2 or more degrees. The aux will come on.

So If I set a lockout temp, will my heat pump still use aux heat to defrost? I want to make sure that cold breeze doesn't happen anymore as it was cold.

Last edited by N01B4ME; 01-19-2010 at 10:44 AM.
N01B4ME is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 11:00 AM   #160
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,047
Rewards Points: 3,758
Default

Need HELP swapping a Vision pro 8320u1008 to an IAQ one


Yeah. The stat has no control over defrost. The outdoor unit sends the W signal directly to the air handler.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
N01B4ME (01-10-2011)
Old 01-19-2010, 11:13 AM   #161
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: The Sunshine State- Florida
Posts: 100
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Need HELP swapping a Vision pro 8320u1008 to an IAQ one


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Yeah. The stat has no control over defrost. The outdoor unit sends the W signal directly to the air handler.

Thanks I was worried If I set a lockout temp my defrost would not work....
N01B4ME is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 03:30 PM   #162
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: The Sunshine State- Florida
Posts: 100
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Need HELP swapping a Vision pro 8320u1008 to an IAQ one


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Yeah. The stat has no control over defrost. The outdoor unit sends the W signal directly to the air handler.
Well I wanted to report my AC and heat have been working good. Knock on wood .

N01B4ME is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Honeywell Vision Pro 8000 TH8320U1008 Thermostat Question chetwynd HVAC 3 02-08-2012 11:36 AM
Need help with Honeywell Vision Pro Thermostat...frozen in NJ ronaldpalka HVAC 15 04-24-2009 04:11 PM
Vision pro 8000 problem chucky7 HVAC 2 01-25-2009 08:21 PM
Swapping exterior door perpetual98 Remodeling 3 11-27-2007 06:55 PM
Swapping panel out JohnTelcoMan Electrical 7 09-05-2007 08:12 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.