Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-07-2013, 08:39 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 121
Share |
Default

Need Help for Rheem Hard Start Kit


Can anyone advise the Rheem part number (or Grainger #) for the hard start kit.

I have Rheem model# RAPL060JAZ
serial# 7713M200811399

I have a whole house generator but when the AC comes on the lights dim quite a bit. The generator is 18Kw.

George6488 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 09:08 PM   #2
Retired Army Veteran
 
jmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 1,382
Default

Need Help for Rheem Hard Start Kit


check out this link at grainger. See if this helps.

link here

jmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 09:35 PM   #3
REP
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 615
Default

Need Help for Rheem Hard Start Kit


Dimming of lights without throwing the breaker means you have other problems.Either you have other things on that line or the wiring is undersized or loose at the connections.This must be figured out as it is a fire hazzard.If you had the misfortune of a fire abnd the insurance co finds the problem they are off the hook.A hard start kit is ok and might help but a real electrcian should go overe ewverything just to be safe.
REP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 05:59 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,221
Default

Need Help for Rheem Hard Start Kit


If your unit always ran good on normal POCO power supplied to your residence I wouldn't mess with it .
I think your just looking for trouble.
__________________
No Warranty Means- If it breaks in half you get to keep both halves.
COLDIRON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 03:27 PM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,559
Default

Need Help for Rheem Hard Start Kit


The SUPCO MPR5 would be appropriate for your 5 ton condenser.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 03:38 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 11
Default

Need Help for Rheem Hard Start Kit


If you are dropping voltage during all or part of the day, this too can cause the dimming of lights. It may not be anything wrong with your stuff, it could be that the service is overloaded. For instance, if a transformer is overloaded it can cause lights to dim when the unit starts. It can also cause a compressor to overheat and trip out on thermal overload. Good thing to do is to check voltage during the peak demand times of the day. Try to check it for voltage drop when your own unit kicks on.
surenuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 06:49 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 553
Default

Need Help for Rheem Hard Start Kit


Quote:
Originally Posted by REP View Post
Dimming of lights without throwing the breaker means you have other problems.Either you have other things on that line or the wiring is undersized or loose at the connections.This must be figured out as it is a fire hazzard.If you had the misfortune of a fire abnd the insurance co finds the problem they are off the hook.A hard start kit is ok and might help but a real electrcian should go overe ewverything just to be safe.
None of that is true.
Practically ALL "accidents" are caused by someonedoing something wrong. If the insurance company was allowed to not pay because of that, then insurance would be really cheap.

Lights dim when there is voltage drop on the line. If you had to put in wires capable of handling starting currents without voltage drop, wiring a house would be prohibatively expensive.

There could be a problem, but it is common without there being a problem. In this case the generator is probably marginal for the load.
Toller is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 02:42 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 121
Default

Need Help for Rheem Hard Start Kit


The electrical is all OK. When running on generator......the starting load of the AC causes the generator to rev up to put out the extra power. This is when the lights dim and it is only for a second or two until the generator catches up with the load and then all is OK.

I just thought a hard start kit might make it easier on the generator.

Any thoughts?
George6488 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 03:00 PM   #9
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,559
Default

Need Help for Rheem Hard Start Kit


Yes, it will.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hard start for compressor bob22 HVAC 3 01-13-2013 07:54 PM
Adding a Hard Start Kit rgarcia1801 HVAC 11 10-21-2012 05:31 PM
is a hard start kit needed???? firedogut HVAC 3 10-08-2009 06:33 PM
Snapper Mower engine hard to start czars Tools 3 09-02-2009 01:38 PM
How hard is your water? How deep is your well? brokenknee General DIY Discussions 10 05-05-2009 07:17 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.