Need Help Replacing An OLD General Controls Thermostat - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-28-2011, 03:03 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 228
Rewards Points: 150
Question

Need help replacing an OLD General Controls Thermostat


Dear all, how are you doing?

Did some research before posting here, as I think my question is sort of specific to my thermostat model and condition. The current thermostat looks REALLY OLD, and here are all the info that I could find (from the back of the cover) for this OLD thermostat:

==========================================
Brand: General Controls Thermostat
Catalog No. T94A104 (not sure if this is the model#)
Serial No. A0
For use with low voltage circuit only
==========================================

Here is a photo taken from my cell phone:



As you could see the colors of all the wires are off, so I can't really tell which wire is for what function. The heater/furnace is a fairly new one (maybe 10 - 15 years old, the model is Bryant 90 Plus). Our current problem is that the preset thermostat seems to be not so precise. For example, if we set the temperature on the thermostat to be 65 degree, most of times it will overshoot and the room will be heated up to around 70 - 72 degree before the furnace shut down (by the thermostat I presume). I feel that the problem is on the thermostat, as it seems to be still using some sort of old mechanism (springs, etc.) to determine indoor temperature. Here are my questions:
  1. Is my guess correct that the problem is caused by thermostat?
  2. Giving my current condition and existing wiring (don't want to rewire again), is it possible for me to replace the old one with a modern thermostat, such as this amazon one (Lux Products TX1500), see http://www.amazon.com/Lux-Products-T...dp/B001C0G4O8/
  3. Does this seem to be a DIY job, or do I have to hire a professional to do this? What tools do I need to figure out which wire is for what purposes?

I'm thinking that if I can NOT DIY, maybe I could purchase the thermostat from amazon first, then hire my contractor friend to help out replacing it. But I want to make sure that it would work with my existing wiring and existing furnace. Any help, suggestion, comments, or feedback would be highly appreciated. Thanks again!

Advertisement


Last edited by ohman; 05-28-2011 at 03:06 AM.
ohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2011, 04:06 AM   #2
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,365
Rewards Points: 1,094
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Need help replacing an OLD General Controls Thermostat


you are still not down to the subbase. remove the piece shown in the picture from the wall and you should find your colored wire.
I do recommend a new stat.
Get a honeywell instead of that junk Lux
yes, you can do this yourself

Advertisement

__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2011, 02:33 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 228
Rewards Points: 150
Question

Need help replacing an OLD General Controls Thermostat


Thanks for your reply. I really appreciate that!
By the way, I live in San Francisco, where we don't have air conditioner (cooling) installed in our house (only heater is installed). In this case, would a base model of Honeywell thermostat like this one work well?

http://www.amazon.com/Honeywell-RTH2...dp/B000EW5U86/

Any recommendation for the thermostat if NO COOLING wires are needed?? Thanks!
ohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2011, 06:35 PM   #4
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,365
Rewards Points: 1,094
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Need help replacing an OLD General Controls Thermostat


That stat will work. But I prefer a pro stat http://yourhome.honeywell.com/home/P...usPRO+6000.htm
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Honeywell thermostat wiring wcb22 HVAC 5 01-10-2011 06:54 AM
Need some help with replacing Thermostat MAD King HVAC 2 12-14-2010 06:20 PM
Problem with Lennox Pulse Furnace Wiring to Thermostat scalvin Electrical 4 12-30-2009 08:48 PM
Replacing my 6 wire Honeywell condo thermostat Ivan33 HVAC 8 11-29-2009 02:04 PM
help-our thermostat controls 2 other apts. i like it cold kit HVAC 12 11-04-2009 04:13 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts