DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

need help with package unit ductwork

35K views 15 replies 4 participants last post by  gregieOops 
#1 ·
Hi,

I have an old furnace in a lake house (~30 years old single wide mobile home) that I frequently use about once a month. The existing furnace is too old and has to go. Window AC are used during summer.

I purchased a used Package unit (Carrier 48SS-042 -LP furnace and 3.5 tons AC.) I plan to install it myself to save $$$money. My neighbor is a plumber and will be taking care of the propane part. Luckily for me, a dedicated circuit was already allocated to the Window AC, so all I have to do is rewire to the unit.

The toughest part for me is the ductwork from the unit to the trailer. I have never done ductwork before (except the minor sealand or insulation) so I really need your help in determinning what type and size of ductwork and how to use it, if all possible.

btw.. I plan to reuse the existing furnace closet area for the air-return and also to connect to the main ductwork. any concerns!?

Thank you in advance.

#3 ·
First. Doubtful the electric line for the window A/C is big enough for that package unit.

Without pics of the furnace alcove, we can't say much about how to run the duct work.

Your current duct system may be too small for that package unit.

What is the rest of the model number.

#4 ·
Mobil home duct are notoriously undersized and always employ a high static blower. That is one problem that will disallow you taping existing duct.

The other:

You try hooking ducts from the Pkg unit to the existing duct the airflow will back feed thru the furnace and out the existing cold air return.

#5 ·
more info

The mobile home is 1100 sqft. the floor plan is shown in the pics below.

The Package Unit model number is 48ss-042100331; a lot of information is found in the this document.