Need Help With Luxaire Trouble Code - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-29-2010, 06:44 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Need help with Luxaire trouble code


I have a Luxaire gas furnace model # PCUHALD12N080C. Sometimes the hot surface ignitor will not light and the furnace will blow cold air. I flip the shut off switch on the furnace and it will work again. The trouble code is flashing red 11 times.

Advertisement

DustinP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 07:04 PM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,121
Rewards Points: 880
Default

Need help with Luxaire trouble code


Should have a legend with the trouble codes on the front or back of one of the 2 doors. May be buried in the wiring diagram also. Post the code info here.

Advertisement

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 07:11 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Need help with Luxaire trouble code


I tried looking for it before, but all that was on there was the wiring schematic. Can you somehow determine what the trouble code is from the schematics?
DustinP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 07:19 PM   #4
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,121
Rewards Points: 880
Default

Need help with Luxaire trouble code


No. And I don't have insider info with Luxaire/York tech info. Post the serial # here and maybe Beenthere may have access to York info. 2 things to try.
1) Clean the flame sensor with fine emory paper. Sits in front of one of the burners and looks like one of these
2) Remove the tube from the pressure switch where it attaches to the collector box, NOT the switch itself and ream that hole out with a paper clip or small drill bit.
Attached Images
   
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".

Last edited by yuri; 11-29-2010 at 07:21 PM.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 07:23 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Need help with Luxaire trouble code


already cleaned the flame sensor.

Serial #(8) ELHM820656.

The tube from the pressure switch to the inducer motor appeared to be clear, but I will double check.
DustinP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 07:25 PM   #6
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,121
Rewards Points: 880
Default

Need help with Luxaire trouble code


I found something:http://americanhvacparts.com/Merchan...ode=cb-johnson

Strange code (11) Broken rollout switch wire? Never heard of that problem. Maybe Beenthere or the other guys have. If it was broken it would not be an intermittent problem. The rollout switch wherever it is on those units may have a bad connection or you have a bad wiring harness or the board is faulty and giving false codes.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".

Last edited by yuri; 11-29-2010 at 07:32 PM.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 08:12 PM   #7
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,368
Rewards Points: 1,100
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Need help with Luxaire trouble code


i found something saying main blower failure for 11 flash.... not real sure that i believe that to be your problem though, if you look at the control board, it might give a legend on it, is it a white rogers board?
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010, 09:47 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Need help with Luxaire trouble code


I also found something on the internet saying the primary or auxilary limit switch has opened and remained open for more than five minutes, usually caused by a failed blower motor or blower wheel.

The blower motor seems to be working fine. Could the motor or blower wheel be in a bind, dirty, or getting hot causing the limit switch problem?

Does anybody know anything more on the one that said something about the broken rollout wire? I will try and do some research on this and see what I can find.

I appreciate the help.
DustinP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010, 05:48 PM   #9
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,548
Rewards Points: 4,734
Default

Need help with Luxaire trouble code


Do you have A/C on that furnace. 11 Usually means the aux limit tripped.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 11:46 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Need help with Luxaire trouble code


Yes, I do have a/c on it. So if it was aux limit tripped, what do I do?
DustinP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 11:50 AM   #11
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,548
Rewards Points: 4,734
Default

Need help with Luxaire trouble code


See if the A/C coil is dirty. And clean it if it is.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 11:55 AM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Need help with Luxaire trouble code


I will try that, but it doesn't have a heat pump or anything, how would the a/c coil effect the furnace, if it is not running?
DustinP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 11:57 AM   #13
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,548
Rewards Points: 4,734
Default

Need help with Luxaire trouble code


The air has to blow through the A/c coil to get to the house.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 11:59 AM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Need help with Luxaire trouble code


Ok, thanks.
DustinP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 02:07 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Need help with Luxaire trouble code


ok, I cleaned the A coil, but it didn't seem that dirty. After one day the furnace is blowing cold again. Is there a chance that the aux limit switch could be bad? I took the aux limit switch out to try and see if that would work, but it didnt. I put the limit switch back in, now the hot surface ignitor wont blow at all and the trouble code is giving 5 red flashes.

Advertisement

DustinP is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Carrier Furnace help code 31 fauxjaux HVAC 6 04-22-2010 11:36 PM
Code Clarification GoyimPersuasion Electrical 24 01-28-2009 04:44 PM
Distance between Heater & Combustibles DIY_JC Building & Construction 7 01-20-2009 08:52 AM
Carrier 9200 Code 34 fault cu1982 HVAC 8 01-02-2009 09:56 PM
Day and Night Heater blink code 31 mlh HVAC 7 02-01-2008 12:57 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts