Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-29-2010, 09:48 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Need help with Honeywell thermostat


Hi and hope someone can help me out ....
Location: Houston, TX

I have a 1h / 1c system ...

It has:

1. Honeywell PC8900a thermostat
- it has 4 terminals
#1 Red wire
#2 White wire
#3 Green wire
#4 Yellow wire

2. A W8900 Remote Module in the attic

Thermostat has a mind of its own and somewhat complicated + the wife hates it.

I would like to replace it and a friend of mine recommends a Pro1 - Model T905. It seems to be "friendlier"

http://www.pro1iaq.com/homeowner/thermostats_t905.html

My question and fears are that it will not be compatible with item #2 - W8900 Remote Module sitting in the attic for whatever it does.

So, my question is if its Ok to change it or do I have to go a different direction ?

I have called Honeywell and their only response is that I have to get their most expensive unit + change module also. My take on talking to them is they are only interested on selling me another product.

It used to be very easy to change thermostats in the old days but now things seem more complicated. The only extra I see in this unit is that it has an extra vent coming from outside for fresh air + it has an electronic open/close device on it. That is it.

Original home builder was Pioneer.

Thanks a million to anyone that can help me out.

mmspar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2010, 10:29 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,509
Default

Need help with Honeywell thermostat


The module should also be controlling your fresh air. That is a communicating thermostat.

It is a crappy thermostat though.

If you want a unit that still controls the fresh air intake. Get a Honeywell IAQ thermostat(YTH9421). Its also a communicating thermostat. But much friendlier.



beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing Honeywell thermostat with another Honeywell flipz HVAC 4 02-06-2010 04:19 PM
Need a programmable thermostat. LUX or Honeywell. speedster1 HVAC 37 12-06-2009 08:33 AM
new honeywell rth6300b to replace very old honeywell thermostat Designman20 HVAC 2 05-06-2009 04:43 AM
Wiring/Programming of a Honeywell TH8320 Thermostat homrjheath HVAC 4 10-15-2008 01:30 PM
Wiring help - Honeywell Thermostat w/ Carrier Heat Pump Tom Williams HVAC 7 09-14-2008 07:40 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.