DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

Need help with heat and hot water issue

9K views 50 replies 5 participants last post by  beenthere 
#1 · (Edited)
Hi everyone,

I'm new to this forum. How's everyone doing? Good I hope. First off, let me just say that I'm not a pro by any means on fixing heating systems. That said, I've been learning all about my system from research online for the past few days. Here's a quick description on my issue. There's only minimal heat and luke warm water throughout the house. Some areas seem like there's no heat at all. All the taps have luke warm water. The house is heated by radiant floor heating and the heating system setup is a slant/fin gas boiler with an indirect fired water heater. It's also controlled by 4 honeywell zone valves.

What I've done so far in diagnosing the problem:
Checked:Boiler fires, pipes are hot, circulator seems to be operating, hot to the touch, psi and temp on boiler all seem normal,Psi between 20-30 hot, temp 180-200
Checked thermostats opens zones, OK
zone valves, OK
Bled system

Can't seem to find what the problem is until I noticed one of the aquastats connected to the indirect fired water heater has a slight leak at the well. It doesn't seem to be a loose connection. It seems to be leaking from the well hole. Can that cause the aquastat to malfunction and not do its job? Could that be the source of the problem? The aquastat is a Honeywell L4006A single function.
At first I thought it was the circulator(B&G) that was the problem but now I'm not so sure. The boiler fires every once in awhile but there seems to be no hot water circulating or not enough circulating. The floor in one of the rooms upstairs seems to be slightly warm but other rooms seem to not be getting any heat and theres only luke warm water in all taps. Had to take a luke warm shower this morning...brrrbrrr. Lucky it's not that cold here in Vancouver and the Olympic spirit is keeping me a little warmer. Go CANADA Go!!!