Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-20-2008, 06:36 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Need Heat


I have a Lennox Air Handler and outside A/C unit attached. I just installed a new Vision Pro Tstat and the everything operates when selected except no heat comes from the vents.

Any suggestions?

Ryan314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2008, 06:51 PM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,652
Rewards Points: 2,442
Default

Need Heat


More info needed: Do you have a heat pump outside. Is there electric elements in the air handler or is it an electric furnace. Post the make, model #, serial # of the outdoor and indoor units and one of us may be able to help.

yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2008, 07:16 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Need Heat


I have a four level Row Home. The first two floors are heated by a gas furnance located on the second level. This system has it's own Tstat. The third and fourth level are heated by a Air handler located in a closet on the 4th level. Outside are two A/C units one is for the 1st two levels and the other for the the top two. Everything was working fine until I replaced my Tstat that controlled the Air handler on the 4th level. When I select heat I hear the Air Handler blower come on but, no heat. When I select the A/C it works fine.

The model number for the Air Handle is CB26UH
Serial number 6007G21589

The model number for the outside unit is 13HPD-030-230-01
Serial number 5807K21343

Appreciate any help.
Ryan314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2008, 08:16 PM   #4
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,652
Rewards Points: 2,442
Default

Need Heat


Those are all Lennox units. Did you label the wires from the old tstat B4 you changed it and connect them the same way. In the programming menu of the Vision Pro you may have to set it for electric heat. Check your wiring connections on the tstat subbase. Sounds like your W wire is not connected properly.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2008, 08:45 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Need Heat


I connected the wires to the exact terminals they came off of. Currently the White wire is connected to the Aux/W2 terminal while the orange is connected the W/ OB terminal. Black is to E, Red is to R with the jumper still between R and Rc, Yellow to Y, Green to G. That is how they were on the old Tstat.

Thanks
Ryan314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2008, 09:58 PM   #6
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,652
Rewards Points: 2,442
Default

Need Heat


That is a Lennox heatpump you have and I don't know them well as we don't have them were I am (too damn cold). Something is not wired properly and maybe one of our other guys can help you or phone the 1-800 Honeywell # on the box and they can help you. Or call a Lennox tech who does heatpumps. Here is the wiring diagram for you:http://tech.lennoxintl.com/PDFs/534774wi.pdf

Good Luck
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2008, 03:55 AM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,662
Rewards Points: 3,002
Default

Need Heat


I asked you if it was a heat pump in your other post.
You kept insisting its was only an A/C.

Did you go into the installers set up menu?

If not, then the stat is trying to control a gas/oil, or electric furnace. And it is energizing W1 O/B because that is the terminal it uses for oil, gas, or straight electric furnaces.

Installer setup for a heat pump with electric aux heat.
0170 should be set to 7
0180 should be set to 1
0200 should be set to 0
0240 should be set to 3
0250 should be set to 3(factory default is 9, thats too many cycles) And your HP will run 24/7 once below BP with a setting of 9.

PS: they may have had a wire landed on the E terminal, doesn't mean they ever had it landed at the air handler. May want to jumper W2 and E at the stat.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2008, 08:22 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Need Heat


I figured out the problem. Had to reverse the White and Orange. Everything working great.

Thanks for all the suggestions
Ryan314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2008, 09:34 AM   #9
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,662
Rewards Points: 3,002
Default

Need Heat


Its up to you.

But why do you insist on using expensive elctric resistance heat, instead of using the HP for heat.

The HP can reduce your heating bill for that area by 30 to 50%.

The model number you posted "13HPD-030-230-01" is a heat pump, not an A/C.

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heat Pump vs Aux Electric Heat batolson HVAC 16 01-17-2009 10:28 AM
Cracked Heat Exchanger SusanB. HVAC 12 10-14-2008 03:57 PM
Which diagram to use on Lenox Thermostat wiring setup? Heat Pump Lenox techs needed twilightcall HVAC 1 08-13-2008 11:49 AM
Testing FuelMaster 21 Module? Heat Pump no Run. thehotrod11 HVAC 3 12-29-2007 02:11 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.