Natural Gas Furnace To LP? - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-28-2009, 03:40 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 61
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Natural gas furnace to LP?


I got a 40k BTU hanging furnace for my garage from a buddy (not even sure what I've got, I'll find out more when I get home) but didn't have a chance to get a gas line run to the garage before the ground froze. I'd like to get a 100lbs LP tank and run off of that for the rest of this year if I can. What's involved with converting? Will it cost too much to be viable for just one year? I don't absolutely have to have a heated garage, but... you know how it is.

Advertisement

qoncept is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2009, 03:58 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Natural gas furnace to LP?


You need a LP conversion kit . Comes with a spring for the gas valve and new orifices.Gas pressure has to be adjusted properly. Last one I bought was less then $20

Advertisement

Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2009, 04:31 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 61
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Natural gas furnace to LP?


Great, thanks! Are these universal? Hopefully, because this is a pretty old Modine furnace and I might have trouble finding one otherwise.
qoncept is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2009, 05:14 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Natural gas furnace to LP?


They are not universal.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2009, 10:22 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 951
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Natural gas furnace to LP?


It's worth opening up the thing and looking carefully.

My kitchen stove came with orifices for both LP and natural gas. The one's that aren't in use are stored inside.
pyper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2009, 11:01 AM   #6
I have gas!
 
Clutchcargo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,783
Rewards Points: 1,018
Default

Natural gas furnace to LP?


Slightly off topic, but if you in place where the roads are salted during the winter and park your car in a heated garage, it will lead to accelerated corrosion.
random thought.
__________________
I tear things down and build them up.
Clutchcargo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2009, 09:07 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 95
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Natural gas furnace to LP?


You should locate the ID tag on that heater that has make and model and check with the manufacturer to see if there is a conversion kit available. 40k BTU isn't really a lot depending on the size of your garage and temperatures. Make sure that it is NOT a ventfree heater. They are not convertable.

Advertisement

log_doc_rob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Natural Gas Furnace Limit Switch 04gt HVAC 5 12-12-2009 08:50 AM
Installing natural gas furnace in place of heat pump, please help KlamathMog HVAC 17 10-20-2009 02:55 PM
Natural gas forced furnace - Burner shuts off prematurely scooter100 HVAC 9 01-25-2009 11:46 AM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 02:55 PM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 02:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts