Natural Gas Flow - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-27-2013, 03:37 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

natural gas flow


How do I check for natural gas flow

Advertisement

dcstewart6488 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 08:20 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 77
Rewards Points: 75
Default

natural gas flow


Before or after the meter??(inside piping or from the main to your home)

From the main to your home you are probably on a UP, 15, 60 or 120 lbs. system( however all systems would actually run at less pressure)
A plumber can hook up a pressure guage after the shut off but before the regulator on you riser near your meter set.

Inside your home, a plumber can hook up a "U gauge" to determine pressure since it will be less then 16 "wc.

Advertisement

Stcrosby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 09:52 PM   #3
DIY staff

 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 22,270
Rewards Points: 3,180
Default

natural gas flow


Moved to HVAC----A better description of your concern will get you a good answer---
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 10:00 PM   #4
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,545
Rewards Points: 606
Default

natural gas flow


Eating lots of beans always does it for me.
Give more details if you'd like a more specific answer.
how is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 08:18 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 599
Rewards Points: 500
Default

natural gas flow


run just one gas fired unit at a time..while it is running then you can time the input at the gas meter with a stop watch..the meter is in cubic feet per minute so, you time it for a minute and see how many feet the dial indicates (you might have to research how to read the meter)...there is one thousand BTU's per cubic feet...do the math...will be different if you have a metric meter...again, do the math...all of this woks only if you have a gas meter of course!
techpappy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 08:06 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,614
Rewards Points: 2,542
Default

natural gas flow


well...one way is take off a cap and see if it flowing what are you wanting to do ..ben sr
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 09:43 AM   #7
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,650
Rewards Points: 2,614
Default

natural gas flow


Quote:
Originally Posted by how View Post
Eating lots of beans always does it for me.
Give more details if you'd like a more specific answer.
Actually...chips and salsa does it well for me....toss in some beer and we can get some real velocity.

But if the op is talking about the gas line in his house....go to one of the gas appliances....turn off the gas using the shut off valve that should be there....remove the flex hose...momentarily turn on said shut off valve....gas should be flowing....

If said appliance does not have a local shut off valve.....stop...I would suspect there are some serious issues in this house.
__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 10:00 AM   #8
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,038
Rewards Points: 714
Default

natural gas flow


this should solve all your problems
Attached Images
 
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 10:27 AM   #9
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,650
Rewards Points: 2,614
Default

natural gas flow


Yuri...why would anyone need A/C in Winnipeg? I've been there many times.....usually freezing my a$$ off....one winter about 4 years ago....-47.6....it hurt....

So...how is the old Palomino club doing?
__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 11:06 AM   #10
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,038
Rewards Points: 714
Default

natural gas flow


-47 yeah but that is in Winter. actually our Summers can get very hot and somewhat humid (60-70%RH, nothing like Florida though but we suffer at those levels). We even have a full blown desert in Carberry.

Palomino is still in biz but like the Urban cowboy and dinosaur may go extinct. There was a copycat to it that failed miserably but I guess there must be enough old Urban cowboys to support it so you never know.

Advertisement

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".

Last edited by yuri; 03-30-2013 at 11:22 AM.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
hot water baseboard flow question (long) fred54 HVAC 4 10-14-2011 04:39 AM
radiator flow: connecting IN and OUT lines, yay or nay? amakarevic Plumbing 2 10-06-2011 02:31 PM
Jacuzzi tube does not flow water!! Nate53 Plumbing 0 09-16-2011 09:14 PM
Second Floor Vent Has No Air Flow somewhatsketchy HVAC 7 08-16-2010 01:32 PM
Moving HVAC ducts/registers & reverse flow ?'s cbrc5eric HVAC 3 06-09-2010 06:05 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts