Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-13-2008, 07:53 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Is my thermostat working?


I have a Honeywell MagicStat CT3200 Programmable Thermostat that I installed a couple of years ago on my 20+ year old Trane HVAC system (which has never given me a lick of trouble, by the way). Recently, though, I've caught my a/c shutting off before the set temperature has been reached. For example, weekdays at 2:00PM the thermostat is set to knock the temp back to 74 (from 78). Today when I came home at 2:30, the a/c was running but the thermometer read 79. A short time later, the a/c shut off with the temp reading 78 (even though it was supposed to cool to 74). Later it came back on and eventually cooled the house to 74. So the a/c unit appears to be working (it was just checked last summer). I've replaced the batteries in the thermostat and reset it. Could it be defective?
Any advice would be much appreciated.
(Sweating in) Virginia Beach, VA

pfrich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2008, 02:09 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 152
Default

Is my thermostat working?


in a 20 year old system the liklyhood that you 2 year old thermostat has a problem is low most likly the compressor is kicking off on thermal overload causing the intermitint problem it might be time to start planing for the replacment

geo fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2008, 09:25 AM   #3
oops, did I do that!
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: mid michigan
Posts: 290
Default

Is my thermostat working?


Set the stat at 74deg, switch to hold temp, let it run until it times out.

If the setpoint is reached and held, its probably the stat. Make sure you have a good 24volts at the stat from the furnace.

Pick a pleasant day, remove the stat, remove the batteries and let it sit for1/2 hr. replace the batteries, mount it back on the subbase and reprogram.

Last edited by 8 Ball; 06-15-2008 at 09:28 AM.
8 Ball is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Thermostat and Furnace Not Working Right Vegas Resident HVAC 1 12-06-2007 06:42 PM
Oil Furnace - Swapping out to Programmable Thermostat slappy HVAC 2 12-05-2007 03:57 PM
Furnace stops working once a day - help Da_Bears HVAC 2 01-26-2006 01:19 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.