Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-23-2011, 09:38 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Unhappy

my hvac new motor , now quit


I replaced a 1/6 HP motor on my outside unit a week ago with a 1/4 HP motor bc the bearing was to bad. The unit has a two speed two stage start capacitor for the fan and compressor. This was checked and was good at motor installation. The unit now quits in ax mode and only the inside blower works. I cut everything off for bout 15 min and cut on and outside unit started fine. Any thoughts on this scenario.it is American standard bout 12 yrs old

roofie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2011, 10:07 PM   #2
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Rewards Points: 0
Default

my hvac new motor , now quit


Did you replace the capacitor?

__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2011, 10:11 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 0
Default

my hvac new motor , now quit


Have not replaced it as of now, only found problem little while ago. When I put the motor in one company told me to replace the capacitor and the electrician told me that if it checked out good there was no need in replacing.
roofie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2011, 10:54 PM   #4
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Rewards Points: 0
Default

my hvac new motor , now quit


only If the capacitor has the same value.
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2011, 04:40 AM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,080
Rewards Points: 54
Default

my hvac new motor , now quit


Quote:
Originally Posted by roofie View Post
Have not replaced it as of now, only found problem little while ago. When I put the motor in one company told me to replace the capacitor and the electrician told me that if it checked out good there was no need in replacing.

I don't think electricians work on A/C units/systems. So I wouldn't really listen to their advise on how to service them.

What was the amp rating on the old motor, what was the RPM of the old motor? Is the new motor the same amp and RPM rating as the old motor? Is it spinning the right direction?
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cool, hot, hvac


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Runaround - HVAC and HWH proper venting/exhaust denemante HVAC 24 04-05-2011 08:50 PM
moving HVAC system - can I go without gas for a few days? denemante HVAC 2 03-30-2011 04:55 AM
History of HVAC Industry Brands winkydink HVAC 8 03-25-2011 07:28 AM
Engineered Joists & holes for HVAC ducts walt1122 Building & Construction 3 07-04-2009 07:37 PM
new HVAC & door bell quit didn'tdoit HVAC 3 04-16-2006 06:30 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.