Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-19-2009, 06:26 PM   #1
New Home Owner
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 43
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Is my furnace-thermostat wiring okay?


Hi, I bought a house and the installed thermostat was ugly, partly painted, and I couldn't figure out how to work it. I have installed a thermostat I had previously used in an apartment.

When I looked at how the old one was wired it was not what I expected. The colours of the wires did not match the labels. The furnace and fan still worked, but I still wanted to replace it.

This is what it looked like: (the blue text is the old owner's hand writing. the black test is what is actually on the stat. i just made it more visible in the pic)


Since it worked, I figured I would install my new one the same as this one.

Here is a pic of the new one:


When using this new one, the furnace works, but it seems to turn on and off too much. One change I did notice is that when the system turns on, the fan starts blowing first, which is normal. But then it turns off, and ten seconds later the furnace and fan turn on. It's always 10 seconds.

Is my setup okay? I'm not sure why the wires would be different...

Here is a pic of my furnace, I'm not really sure where the wires from the stat go to be honest.



Am I okay?

Thanks!


Last edited by Brandon19; 10-19-2009 at 06:29 PM.
Brandon19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 07:00 PM   #2
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,470
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Is my furnace-thermostat wiring okay?


First in the second pic of the stat there is a black jumper and there are markings HE and HG it needs to be on the HG not the HE

HE = Heating electric
HG = Heating gas

Also did you set the stat temperature differental to 2 deg?

__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 07:21 PM   #3
New Home Owner
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 43
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Is my furnace-thermostat wiring okay?


Oh, thanks for noticing that. I'll put it on HG right away.

I didn't set any differential. I didn't know I could on this stat. Know how I would do it on this? And is that 2 degrees C or F?

Thanks a lot
Brandon19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 07:25 PM   #4
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,470
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Is my furnace-thermostat wiring okay?


Need more info..what is the brand and model of the new stat?
__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 07:34 PM   #5
New Home Owner
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 43
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Is my furnace-thermostat wiring okay?


Brand and model are in the link in above post and below.

http://rona.ca/shop/~thermostat-prog...hermostat_shop

Not much detail on the page, but I did just find the instruction manual from it. Anything I should be looking for? I did not see any differential info.

In the instructions, beside the HG/HE jumper info, it says that HG allows the heating system to control the fan, not the thermostat. I wonder if that solved my 10 second delay problem already?
Brandon19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2009, 02:15 PM   #6
Member
 
sktn77a's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 260
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Is my furnace-thermostat wiring okay?


The wires going to the furnace don't look like they are the correct colors. If they didn't obey the standard thermostat wiring conventions, the last homeowner may have traced them and added the blue lables. But it sounds like its not working properly, anyway. I'd first try putting the old thermostat back in and seeing if this works properly. If it does, then trace the wires from the furnace back to the thermostat . If they are original (ie R=+24v, G=fan, W=heat, Y=cool and B=common) then it looks like the original thermostat was wired incorrectly - why it worked is anbody's guess.
sktn77a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2009, 05:46 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 719
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Is my furnace-thermostat wiring okay?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Plumber101 View Post
First in the second pic of the stat there is a black jumper and there are markings HE and HG it needs to be on the HG not the HE

HE = Heating electric
HG = Heating gas

Also did you set the stat temperature differental to 2 deg?
101
Good Job, very observant

SULTINI is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Honeywell stat wiring w/ Trane furnace JaePee HVAC 7 01-18-2009 06:50 AM
Wiring a RobertShaw 9870i to Gas Furnace & Heat Pump jerfer HVAC 11 12-21-2008 09:09 PM
Wiring new Thermostat to new furnace hartkem HVAC 7 11-11-2008 07:09 PM
Oil Furnace - Swapping out to Programmable Thermostat slappy HVAC 2 12-05-2007 03:57 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.